TELL US YOUR STORY

The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

Education

Our Voices Blog

Tell Us Your Story 


Our Voices is a place for breast cancer patients to share their experiences in their own words and to inspire others.  The best stories focus on one specific aspect of the cancer journey.  For example, you may want to talk about tips for dealing with cognitive difficulties that come from chemotherapy, or organizing a team of friends and family to support you during treatment.  The choice of topics is yours.  The length should be about one page.  Before you start writing, send a brief description of your story idea to us at cbcn@cbcn.ca, and we’ll give you some more specific writing guidelines.  The breast cancer community will look forward to reading your story!

Below are some patient stories featured on Our Voices to help you get started:

We Are All the Divine Feminine

By Quinn Obrigewitch

At the very core of my being, I radiate feminine essence. I grew to understand this through the loss of a physical trait that has been deeply rooted as a symbol of femininity and sexuality for so many centuries - my breasts. 

Triple Negative Breast Cancer: Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda and a TIP

By Ann Hill

If you’re going to be told you have breast cancer, you want to be able to say, “They caught it early.” With Triple Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC) - an aggressive, difficult to treat type of breast cancer - early detection is especially important.

Why Tamoxifen is a Pain in my Ass and Other Bodily Infractions

By Adriana Ermter

Two days ago, my lower back seized and then, seemingly stuck. Never have I ever had back problems. Yet, here I am frozen with body-gripping spasms. I can’t roll over in bed, stand up straight or even wipe my bum without yelping loudly.

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

Education

Our Voices Blog

Racontez-nous votre histoire 


À nous la parole est un endroit où les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du sein peuvent partager leur vécu en leurs propres mots et en inspirer d’autres. Les meilleurs textes se concentrent sur un aspect particulier de l’itinéraire du cancer. Par exemple, vous voudrez peut-être y aller de conseils pour faire face aux difficultés cognitives découlant de la chimiothérapie, ou pour mettre sur pied une équipe d’amis et de parents pour vous soutenir pendant votre traitement. À vous de choisir un sujet. La longueur de votre texte devrait être d’environ une page. Avant de commencer à le rédiger, envoyez une brève description de votre projet à cbcn@cbcn.ca, et nous vous donnerons des lignes directrices plus précises. La communauté du cancer du sein sera enchantée de lire votre récit !

Voici quelques témoignages de patients présentés sur À nous la parole pour vous aider à démarrer : 

La féminité divine en chacune de nous

Par Quinn Obrigewitch

Ma féminité irradie tout mon être. J’en suis arrivée à cette conclusion à la suite de la perte d’un attribut physique qui, depuis de nombreux siècles, représente un symbole puissant de la féminité et de la sexualité : mes seins.

Le cancer du sein triple négatif : des « si seulement » et un conseil

Par Ann Hill

Si l’on vous annonce que vous avez un cancer du sein, vous voulez pouvoir dire : « il a été dépisté tôt ». La détection précoce s’avère particulièrement importante dans le cas du cancer du sein triple négatif (CSTN), un type agressif et difficile à traiter.

Le tamoxifène : histoire d’un siège et d’autres délits corporels

Par Adriana Ermter

l y a deux jours, j’ai senti une contraction dans le bas de mon dos, puis il m’a paru se coincer. Je n’avais jamais eu de problèmes de dos. Pourtant, je me suis retrouvée immobilisée par des spasmes musculaires qui me traversaient le corps.