By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. If you do not want your data to be processed, please leave the site.

The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

Vision

The Canadian Breast Cancer Network exists to ensure the best quality of life for all Canadians diagnosed with breast cancer.


Mission 

CBCN is Canada’s leading patient-directed breast cancer health charity that voices the views and concerns of breast cancer patients through the promotion of information sharing, education and advocacy activities.

Our National Network connects patients, caregivers, health care professionals, researchers, public health agencies and industry stakeholders to improve knowledge translation and promote optimal health outcomes for Canadians with breast cancer.

Our Patient Education provides current, credible and accessible breast cancer resources that are delivered through digital platforms, navigation tools, print materials, and patient centered events.

Our Advocacy ensures that the patient experience, values and perspectives inform policy and guide research.


Values

CBCN is committed to operating under the guidelines of the following core values:

  • Patient Driven: We are committed to ensuring that breast cancer patients and survivors are the driving force of the organization and that their views and concerns inform CBCN’s priorities.
  • Credibility: We are committed to making decisions informed by current research and leading practices.
  • Accountability: We are committed to operating in a transparent manner with full accountability to the breast cancer community, stakeholders and the general public.
  • Equitability: We acknowledge that those affected by breast cancer come from diverse cultural, linguistic, social, economic, geographic, and family backgrounds and that needs in regards to access can be complex. We are committed to understanding these needs to promote social justice and ensure optimal outcomes for all Canadians affected by breast cancer.
  • Inclusivity: We are committed to operating in a manner that ensures inclusivity of all Canadians.
  • Integrity: We are committed to adhering to the highest standards of professionalism, ethics, and personal responsibility.
  • Diversity: We are committed to promoting diversity in our board, staff, volunteers, members and stakeholders, including full participation in programs and decision-making.

Our Journal Articles

Brehaut, J. C., Carroll, K., Gordon, J., Presseau, J., Richards, D. P., Fergusson, D. A., Graham, I. D., et al. (2021). Results from a theory-guided survey to support breast cancer trial participation: Barriers, enablers, and what to do about them. Current Oncology28(3), 2014–2028.  http://dx.doi.org/10.3390/curroncol28030187

Cardoso, F., Wilking, N., Bernardini, R., Biganzoli, L., Espin, J., Miikkulainen, K., Schuurman, S., Spence, D., Spitz, S., Ujupan, S., Zernik, N., & Gordon, J. (2020). A multi-stakeholder approach in optimising patients’ needs in the benefit assessment process of new metastatic breast cancer treatments. The Breast, 52, 78-87. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.breast.2020.04.011

Dent, S., Ammendolea, C., Christofides, A., Edwards, S., Incekol, D., Pourmirza, B., Kfoury, S., et al. (2019). A multidisciplinary perspective on the subcutaneous administration of trastuzumab in HER2-positive breast cancer. Current Oncology26(1), 70–80.  http://dx.doi.org/10.3747/co.26.4220


History of CBCN

In 1992 the House of Commons published a report entitled Breast Cancer: Unanswered Questions, and one of its recommendations resulted in the National Forum on Breast Cancer, which was held in Montreal in November 1993. One of the recommendations contained in the final report of the National Forum on Breast Cancer called for the development of a survivor-directed, national network of organizations and individuals to provide a link and a voice for members of the breast cancer community. An interim planning committee of nine survivors from across Canada volunteered to begin the formation of a national network to represent the interests of those Canadians and their families who live with breast cancer.

The Canadian Breast Cancer Network (CBCN) was officially incorporated and registered as a charitable organization in November 1994. Health Canada then sponsored a seminar to help the Network build skills and promote organizational development. Forty-three participants representing Canada’s geographic regions and ethnic make-up attended, and a 17-member Steering Committee was established.

Early in 1995, CBCN, in partnership with Health Canada, sponsored regional meetings in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Calgary, and Vancouver. In total, 200 delegates met to discuss the current services and the persistent gaps in breast cancer education, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment. Delegates recommended that the Canadian Breast Cancer Network act as a link between breast cancer groups across Canada to broaden their resources, provide educational activities, and share information.

In 1997, CBCN hired an Executive Director and opened its national office in Ottawa. Since then CBCN has published several reports highlighting key breast cancer issues, including access to treatment for Canadians with metastatic breast cancer, breast cancer wait times in Canada, the economic impact of breast cancer, the needs of young women, and the perspectives of rural women. These reports have been key in improving access to services and care for Canadians affected by breast cancer.

CBCN has also hosted a variety of in-person meetings for breast cancer patients, survivors, and their families to increase their knowledge and information about the disease and how to access the treatments they need and connect with a supportive community. CBCN regularly hosts online webinars on a variety of key topics of interest and publishes monthly e-newsletters and a semi-annual magazine to help address the informational and educational needs of the breast cancer community in Canada. CBCN continues to work with decision makes to provide critical input to health approval bodies and to influence policy to promote a patient-focused approach.

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Notre vision

Le RCCS existe pour s’assurer que tous les Canadiennes et les Canadiens affectés par le cancer du sein ont la meilleure qualité de vie possible. 


Mission 

Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein est la plus importante organisation canadienne d’individus préoccupés par le cancer du sein dont le travail est guidé par les patientes. Le RCCS s’efforce de faire valoir les perspectives et les préoccupations des patientes du cancer du sein en faisant de la sensibilisation, en organisant des activités de défense des intérêts et en promouvant le partage de l’information.

  • Éducation et sensibilisation – Le RCCS offre des renseignements et des formations dignes de foi aux personnes affectées par le cancer du sein.
  • Défense des intérêts – Le RCCS promeut un accès équitable aux services de soutien et aux soins pendant toute la durée de la maladie pour favoriser la meilleure qualité de vie possible. Le RCCS veille également à ce que les besoins des survivantes du cancer du sein et de leur famille soient pris en compte dans les domaines de la recherche et des politiques en soins de santé.
  • Réseau national – Le RCCS met en contact des organismes et des personnes en vue de promouvoir l’échange d’information et la collaboration.

Valeurs 

Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein s’est engagé à fonctionner selon des lignes directrices respectant les valeurs fondamentales suivantes :

  • Travail guidé par les patientes : Nous désirons nous assurer que les patientes et survivantes du cancer du sein sont constamment au cœur de notre organisation et que leurs perspectives et leurs préoccupations influencent les priorités du RCCS.
  • Crédibilité : Nous voulons prendre des décisions basées sur les recherches et les pratiques exemplaires les plus actuelles.
  • Responsabilité : Nous visons la transparence dans nos opérations et une reddition de comptes à la communauté du cancer du sein, aux parties prenantes et au public en général.
  • Équité : Nous reconnaissons que les personnes affectées par le cancer du sein sont issues de divers horizons culturels, linguistiques, sociaux, économiques, géographiques et familiaux et que leurs besoins en matière d’accès peuvent être complexes. Nous voulons comprendre ces besoins en vue de promouvoir la justice sociale et nous assurer de résultats optimaux pour l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens affectés par le cancer du sein.
  • Inclusion : Nous nous engageons à fonctionner de manière à garantir l’inclusion de l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.
  • Intégrité : Nous voulons adhérer aux normes les plus rigoureuses en matière de professionnalisme, d’éthique et de responsabilité personnelle.
  • Diversité : Nous sommes résolus à promouvoir la diversité au sein de notre conseil d’administration, notre personnel, nos bénévoles, nos membres et nos parties prenantes, y compris aux chapitres de la participation aux programmes et de la prise de décisions.

Histoire du RCCS

En 1992, la Chambre des communes publiait un rapport intitulé Le cancer du sein : des questions sans réponses dont une des propositions a conduit à la tenue du Forum national sur le cancer du sein en novembre 1993 à Montréal. Dans son rapport, le Forum national a notamment recommandé la création d’un réseau national d’organismes et de personnes dont le travail serait guidé par des survivantes du cancer du sein afin de rallier et de faire entendre les membres de la communauté préoccupée par le cancer du sein. Un comité de planification intérimaire composé de neuf survivantes de partout au Canada s’est porté volontaire pour organiser la création d’un réseau national représentant les intérêts des Canadiennes vivant avec un cancer du sein et des membres de leur famille.

Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein (RCCS) est officiellement incorporé et enregistré en tant qu’organisme de bienfaisance depuis novembre 1994. Santé Canada a par la suite parrainé un séminaire pour promouvoir le développement de l’organisme et pour aider le Réseau à accroître ses compétences. Les 43 personnes issues de divers groupes ethniques et régions du pays qui ont participé à ce séminaire ont nommé un comité de direction composé de 17 membres.

Au début de 1995, le RCCS a marrainé des rencontres régionales à Halifax, Montréal, Toronto, Calgary et Vancouver, en partenariat avec Santé Canada. Au total, 200 personnes y ont parlé de l’état des services actuels et des lacunes persistantes qui affectaient l’éducation sur le cancer du sein, la prévention, l’établissement des diagnostics et les traitements. Elles ont recommandé que le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein devienne un lien entre les différents groupes préoccupés par le cancer du sein. On voulait ainsi élargir la gamme des ressources disponibles, échanger de l’information et diffuser des activités à caractère pédagogique.

En 1997, le RCCS a engagé une directrice générale et ouvert son bureau national à Ottawa. Depuis, il a publié plusieurs rapports de recherche mettant en lumière des enjeux majeurs associés au cancer du sein dont l’accès aux traitements pour les Canadiennes souffrant d’un cancer du sein métastatique, les temps d’attentes au Canada, les répercussions économiques du cancer du sein, les besoins des jeunes femmes et le point de vue des femmes en milieu rural. Ces rapports ont joué un rôle important dans l’amélioration des services et des soins offerts aux Canadiennes touchées par le cancer du sein.

Le RCCS a également organisé des rencontres en personne pour les femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein, les survivantes ainsi que les membres de leur famille pour accroître leurs connaissances et leur transmettre de l’information au sujet de la maladie. Elles ont aussi appris comment accéder aux traitements nécessaires et comment nouer des liens avec une communauté axée sur le soutien. Le RCCS présente régulièrement des webinaires portant sur une variété de sujets d’un grand intérêt. Il publie également un bulletin électronique mensuel et un magazine semestriel pour contribuer à répondre aux besoins d’information et d’éducation des Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein au Canada. Le RCCS poursuit son travail avec les décideurs pour fournir de la rétroaction aux instances d’approbation en santé et pour faire en sorte qu’une approche axée sur le patient soit favorisée.