Information

Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer

Facing Financial Issues

Cancer can be financially expensive, and not all costs are covered by the healthcare system.  Major out-of-pocket expenses can include drugs, medical equipment, transportation, hotels, meals, parking, vehicle repairs, fuel, home care, and child care.  The financial burden can be compounded when a patient or a caregiver cannot work.  Fortunately, help is available.


Sources of Financial Assistance

To find financial assistance, your first stop should be the oncology social worker or patient navigator at your cancer centre.  He or she can put you in touch with local, provincial, and federal government resources.

If you are working, find out what benefits you can access through your employer, such as sick days, a leave of absence, and disability benefits.  Also find out about your workplace or independent drug and health care insurance plans.

In Quebec, the Quebec Pensions Plan provides monthly benefits when a contributor becomes disabled or retires, or in the event of the contributor’s death, survivor benefits. For information, contact the Régime des rentes du Québec at
1-800-463-5185 or www.rrq.gouv.qc.ca.

The Employment Insurance sickness benefits program may provide temporary financial assistance during your treatment. You may be eligible for 15 weeks of coverage, and a caregiver may be eligible for 26 weeks of benefits.  For more information and application forms, contact Service Canada at
1-800-206-7218 or www.servicecanada.gc.ca.

Service Canada can also provide information about Canada Pension Plan disability benefits.  Visit the website listed above or call 1-800-277-9914.

The federal government offers the following tax benefits:  the Medical Expense Tax Credit, the Refundable Medical Expense Supplement, and the Disability Tax Credit.  For information, contact the Canada Revenue Agency at 1-800-959-8281 or visit www.cra-arc.gc.ca.

Eligible First Nations and Inuit can get medical and dental coverage from Health Canada.  For more information, contact Health Canada’s First Nations and Inuit Health Branch or by phone at 1-800-665-8507.

For those who qualify, provincial governments cover the cost of drugs listed on the provincial formulary, as well as home care and medical devices such as lymphedema garments.  The provinces also offer income support programs for people in financial need.

The Kelly Shires Breast Cancer Foundation offers financial assistance to women facing a recent breast cancer diagnosis. You may be eligible to receive up to $1,000 per application and you can apply three times a year. There is a lifetime cap of $12,000 that cannot be given in a lump sum payment. For more information or to complete an application form, call
1-877-436-6467 or visit www.kellyshiresfoundation.org.

The Canadian Breast Cancer Support Fund also offers short-term financial assistance to breast cancer patients who are facing financial difficulties while they are undergoing treatment. For more information or to complete an application form visit www.cbcsf.ca.

The Canadian Red Cross operates a Health Equipment Loan Program (HELP). This program provides medical equipment including wheelchairs and walkers, and operates in British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and the Yukon Territory.   For information, visit www.redcross.ca.

Hope Air arranges free flights for Canadians who are in financial need and must travel to receive healthcare. They give access to air travel through three flight programs: The Commercial Airline Donation Program, the Flight Purchase Program and the Volunteer Pilot Program. Call 1-877-346-4673 or visit www.hopeair.ca for information.

Wellspring’s Money Matters program provides individual, professional case management on the financial impacts from cancer, and provides information on all available income replacement, and drug reimbursement programs. Wellspring has centres in Ontario and in Calgary, Alberta.  For details, visit www.wellspring.ca

Some cancer centres in Canada offer access to Patient Navigators who are able to assist you and guide you through the physical and emotional challenges that come with a cancer diagnosis. They also can help you find access to the treatments you need. Click here to download a list of Patient Navigation programs by province. Please note that some provinces and territories do not yet have cancer or breast cancer navigation programs in place. In lieu of a navigation program, we have provided you with information about oncology social workers at the cancer centres in your province. 

Consult your cancer centre for additional support options in your community.

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Information

Vivre avec un cancer du sein métastatique

Faire face aux problèmes financiers

Souffrir d’un cancer peut s’avérer coûteux et le système de santé ne rembourse pas tout. Les médicaments, l’équipement médical, le transport, les hôtels, les repas, le stationnement, l’entretien du véhicule, l’essence, les soins à domicile et les frais de garde d’enfants constituent les principales dépenses auxquelles doivent faire face les patients. Le fardeau financier peut être d’autant plus grave si un patient ou un aidant demeure dans l’impossibilité de travailler. Heureusement, il y a de l’aide.


Sources d’aide financière

Pour obtenir de l’aide financière, vous devriez vous adresser en premier lieu au travailleur social ou à l’intervenant pivot de votre centre anticancéreux. Il ou elle pourra vous aiguiller vers des ressources gouvernementales locales, provinciales et fédérales.

Si vous travaillez, déterminez les avantages offerts par votre employeur comme les jours de congé de maladie, les absences autorisées et les prestations d’invalidité. Renseignez-vous également sur vos régimes d’assurance maladie et d’assurance-médicaments, qu’ils soient collectifs ou privés.

Au Québec, le Régime des rentes (RRQ) offre des prestations mensuelles lorsqu’un cotisant devient invalide ou lorsqu’il prend sa retraite. Le RRQ verse également des prestations de décès. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec le Régime des rentes du Québec au 1 800 463-5185 ou au www.rrq.gouv.qc.ca.

Le programme de prestations de maladie de l’assurance-emploi peut vous fournir une aide financière temporaire durant votre traitement. Vous pourriez avoir droit à un maximum de 15 semaines de prestations. Un aidant peut être admissible à un maximum de 26 semaines de prestations de compassion. Pour en savoir davantage ou pour obtenir les formulaires de demande, consultez le www.servicecanada.gc.ca ou composez le 1 800 206-7218.

Service Canada peut également vous fournir de l’information au sujet des prestations d’invalidité du Régime de pension du Canada. Visitez le site Web mentionné ci-dessus ou appelez au 1 800 277-9914.

Le gouvernement fédéral offre les crédits d’impôt suivants : le crédit pour frais médicaux, le supplément remboursable pour frais médicaux et le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées. Pour plus de renseignements, appelez l’Agence du revenu du Canada au 1 800 959-8281 ou visitez le www.cra-arc.gc.ca.

Les membres admissibles des Premières nations et de la communauté inuite peuvent obtenir une couverture médicale et dentaire offerte par Santé Canada. Communiquez avec la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits sur le Web ou par téléphone au 1 800 665-8507.

Les gouvernements provinciaux remboursent aux personnes admissibles le prix des médicaments se trouvant sur leur liste de médicaments remboursés de même que des soins à domicile et des dispositifs médicaux tels les vêtements de compression. Les provinces proposent également des programmes de soutien du revenu pour les gens dans le besoin.

La Kelly Shires Breast Cancer Foundation offre une aide financière aux femmes ayant récemment reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein. Vous pourriez recevoir jusqu’à 1000 $ par demande et vous pouvez faire trois demandes par année. Le montant maximal qu’une personne peut recevoir est de 12 000 $ et ce montant ne peut pas faire l’objet d’un paiement forfaitaire. Pour plus de renseignements ou pour remplir une demande, appelez au 1 877 436-6467 ou rendez-vous au www.kellyshiresfoundation.org (en anglais seulement).

Le Canadian Breast Cancer Support Fund offre lui aussi de l’aide financière à court terme aux patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein qui font face à des difficultés financières alors qu’elles subissent des traitements. Vous pouvez obtenir plus d’informations ou remplir une demande au www.cbcsf.ca.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne gère un programme de prêt d’équipement médical (HELP). Ce programme fournit de l’équipement médical, dont des fauteuils roulants et des déambulateurs, en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Ontario, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et au Yukon.   Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le www.croixrouge.ca.

Vols d’espoir organise des vols gratuits pour les Canadiens dans le besoin qui doivent se déplacer sur de longues distances pour recevoir des soins de santé. Cet organisme donne accès à des billets d’avion par l’intermédiaire de trois programmes de transport aérien : le programme de dons des transporteurs aériens, le programme d’achat de vols et le programme de pilotes bénévoles. Téléphonez au 1 877 346-4673 ou visitez le www.hopeair.ca pour obtenir plus d’informations.

Le programme Money Matters de Wellspring fournit une prise en charge professionnelle et individuelle liée aux répercussions financières d’un cancer en plus de donner de l’information sur tous les remplacements de revenus offerts et les programmes de remboursement de médicaments. Wellspring possède des centres en Ontario et à Calgary, en Alberta. Pour plus de détails, visitez le www.wellspring.ca

Certains centres de cancérologie canadiens offrent les services d’un intervenant pivot qui peut vous aider et vous guider lorsque vous traversez les épreuves physiques et morales inhérentes à un diagnostic de cancer. Ils peuvent également vous aider à accéder aux traitements dont vous avez besoin. Cliquez ici pour télécharger une liste de programmes d’intervenants pivots classés par province. Veuillez noter que certaines provinces et certains territoires n’ont pas de programmes d’intervenants pivots en cancérologie ou spécialisés en cancer du sein déjà en place. Par conséquent, nous vous fournissons, pour ces provinces et territoires, des renseignements sur les travailleurs sociaux spécialisés qui travaillent dans les centres de cancérologie de votre province.

Adressez-vous à votre centre anticancéreux pour obtenir une liste plus exhaustive des programmes de soutien offerts dans votre communauté.

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages