By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. If you do not want your data to be processed, please leave the site.

The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

ACTION

Our Campaigns

Drug Access

Currently Canada lacks a national approach to cancer drug coverage. While each province and territory has its own independent system for providing cancer treatments, the eligibility requirements and nature of coverage varies greatly across provinces, territories, and other jurisdictions.

CBCN is dedicated to ensuring that Canadians affected by breast cancer have fair and equitable access to essential treatments, and we focus our advocacy efforts on two main areas of access and coverage:

  1. Equitable access to treatments across Canada:

CBCN is committed towards ensuring increased patient engagement in decision-making around drug coverage and access. We also strive to voice the concerns of breast cancer patients as they navigate Canadian pharmaceutical policies. As part of these efforts, CBCN actively promotes patient values and engagement in the pan-Canadian Oncology Drug Review and Common Drug Review process as well as in the provincial review processes. CBCN also connects directly with patients to direct them to critical resources and to build the capacity of patients to self-advocate.

  1. National pharmacare coverage

CBCN is also convening national dialogue around the concept of Canadian pharmacare, a system that would operate similarly to our “Medicare” program, providing individuals with affordable and accessible medications of all types. CBCN connects with leading experts, authorities, and key stakeholders to endorse a patient centric approach to the implementation of a national pharmacare system.

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

ACTION

Nos campagnes

L’accès aux médicaments

En ce moment, le Canada ne dispose pas d’une approche nationale en matière de couverture des médicaments anticancéreux. Puisque chaque province et territoire possède son propre système de soins contre le cancer, les critères d’admissibilité et la couverture offerte par les régimes d’assurance médicaments varient grandement selon le lieu de résidence.

Le RCCS est résolu à faire en sorte que toutes les Canadiennes touchées par le cancer du sein aient un accès juste et équitable aux traitements essentiels. Nous concentrons nos efforts autour de deux axes principaux de l’accès et de la couverture :

  1. L’accès équitable à des traitements partout au Canada

Le RCCS est déterminé à s’assurer que les patientes jouent un rôle accru dans les prises de décision touchant la couverture des médicaments et l’accès aux traitements. Nous nous efforçons de faire valoir les préoccupations des patientes souffrant d’un cancer du sein qui tentent de s’y retrouver parmi les politiques pharmaceutiques canadiennes. Dans le cadre de ces efforts, le RCCS fait une promotion active des valeurs des patientes et de leur engagement dans les procédures du Programme pancanadien d’évaluation des médicaments oncologiques, du Programme commun d’évaluation des médicaments et dans ceux des évaluations provinciales. Le RCCS communique également directement avec les patientes pour les diriger vers des ressources essentielles et pour développer leur capacité à défendre leurs intérêts.

  1. Un programme national d’assurance médicaments

Le RCCS promeut également un dialogue national autour de l’idée d’un programme national d’assurance médicaments qui serait semblable dans son fonctionnement au régime d’assurance-maladie et qui offrirait un accès facile à des médicaments abordables de toutes sortes. Le RCCS échange avec de grands experts dans le domaine, les autorités concernées et les intervenants clés pour appuyer la mise en œuvre d’un régime national d’assurance médicaments centré sur les patients.  

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages