The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

ACTION

Advocacy

Contacting Government Relations for Advocacy: Sample Letters

There are various avenues to share your story as a form of advocacy. Should you choose to share your message via government relations, we provide sample letters below to get you started. These sample letters are written from the perspective of “Kelly Slynch”, a metastatic breast cancer patient advocating for increased awareness of the everyday experiences of metastatic breast cancer patients. Feel free to refer to and use the following samples when sending a letter to government officials or government bodies.

The highlighted sections refer to the types of information mentioned in our Communicating Your Story worksheet that you should be including in your communications, if they apply. Be sure to edit the letter to reflect your own personal information and situation. While we have made these samples available as PDFs, if you choose to send your communications via email, the text should be written within the body of the email and not sent as an attachment.

Letter to MPs/MPPs

Letter opener [If sent by postal mail]:
Name of MP/MPP/Party Leader
Street Address
City/Town, Postal Code

Date

Subject line [If sent by email]:
More is needed for metastatic patients like me

Dear Name of Councillor, MPP,

As a constituent in your riding, I am writing to you to share my concerns as a woman living with metastatic breast cancer. [Identify issue/personal connection] Through my personal experience living with metastatic breast cancer, it is often common to feel isolated from the general breast cancer community. Many women living with a metastatic breast cancer diagnosis feel that the breast cancer information currently available simply does not address our unique needs. No matter where you are located, it is important for women living with metastatic breast cancer to feel supported and connected to a network of people who are facing similar challenges, especially as we try to better understand our diagnosis and access diverse treatment options.

[Facts and statistics] A few important facts about metastatic breast cancer:

  • Advanced or metastatic breast cancer occurs when the cancer has spread to other parts of the body – most commonly, the bones, liver, lungs and brain.
  • Metastatic breast cancer is currently considered an incurable disease, though there are many treatments that can help to control disease progression.
  • Every year, approximately 25,500 Canadians are diagnosed with breast cancer.
  • Approximately 30 percent of those initially diagnosed with earlier stages of breast cancer later develop recurrent and/or metastatic disease.
  • At least three Canadian women receive their first breast cancer diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic disease every day.

[Personal story] Now 54 years old, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer (Stage IV) in June 2010. As a mother and a new grandmother, I look forward to spending as much time with my loved ones as possible. And this summer, I’ll be traveling across the U.S. and Canada with my family, visiting iconic landmarks I’ve never seen before – like Niagara Falls. For women like me, a new year brings new hope. New treatments are available to help extend the number of sunrises, road trips, laughs and hugs with family members – an important New Year’s resolution to keep.

My story, experiences, and challenges as an individual living with metastatic breast cancer is important and should be highlighted and recognized along with other early-stage breast cancer patients. [Proposed solution] Advocates from across Canada have called on the government to officially recognize October 13th of every year as Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day in Canada, a day intended to support and honour individuals living with metastatic breast cancer all across the world.

[Call-to-action] I call on you to commit to vote on the proposed proclamation up for debate in the upcoming council meeting and stand in solidarity with Canadian families affected by metastatic breast cancer.

Thank you for your commitment, and I look forward to receiving a response from you.

Sincerely,

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver, BC, V5V 5V5

[Insert at least one form of contact if letter is sent via postal mail] 

Download as PDF | Download as Word document

Letter to CADTH

CADTH Contact Information:

CADTH President

Ms. Suzanne McGurn
President and CEO
The Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health
865 Carling Ave., Suite 600
Ottawa, ON Canada K1S 5S8

Minister of Health

The Honourable Patty Hajdu
Minister of Health
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6
hcminister.ministresc@canada.ca or Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca


Letter opener [If sent by postal mail]:
First and last name
Title
Government Department
Address

Date

Subject line [If sent by email]:
More is needed for metastatic patients like me

Dear Ms. Gurn/Honourable Patty Hadju,

My name is Kelly Slynch and I am a mother and new grandmother living with metastatic breast cancer. I am writing today to share my concerns regarding the changes to CADTH’s Drug Review Processes and the impact they may have on cancer patients.

[Identify issue] I am concerned that the changes to the drug review process could result in less availability and accessibility to cancer medications in Canada. [Impact of issue] These changes would limit the opportunities for clinicians to provide input to the process. Clinician input is essential for ensuring that authorities are making truly informed decisions about treatments and their use in Canada.

Most concerningly, the development and application of the provisional algorithm requires greater transparency. The provisional algorithm affects how cancer drugs will be funded and implemented in clinical practice across provinces. It is essential that the process for developing and implementing the algorithm is disclosed transparently with the input of both clinicians and patient groups.

[Personal story] Now 54 years old, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer (Stage IV) in June 2010. As a mother and a new grandmother, I look forward to spending as much time with my loved ones as possible. And this summer, I’ll be traveling across the U.S. and Canada with my family, visiting iconic landmarks I’ve never seen before – like Niagara Falls. For women like me, a new year brings new hope. New treatments are available to help extend the number of sunrises, road trips, laughs and hugs with family members – an important New Year’s resolution to keep. The proposed CADTH changes could greatly impact my ability to access medications that prolong my survival.

[Proposed resolution and call-to-action] I urge you to consider the recommendations made by the cancer patient community, including supporting continued opportunities for clinician input and ensuring a transparent process for the development and implementation of provisional algorithms for cancer treatment including opportunities for stakeholders to provide input.

Sincerely,

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver, BC, V5V 5V5

[Insert at least one form of contact if letter is sent via postal mail] 

Download as PDF | Download as Word document

Letter to PMPRB

PMPRB Contact Information:

Member of Parliament

Name of Member of Parliament
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Minister of Health

The Honourable Patty Hajdu
Minister of Health
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6
hcminister.ministresc@canada.ca or Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca


Letter opener [If sent by postal mail]:
First and last name
Title
Government Department
Address

Date

Subject line [If sent by email]:
More is needed for metastatic patients like me

Dear Honourable Patty Hadju/Name of Councillor,

My name is Kelly Slynch and I am a mother and new grandmother and I am living with metastatic breast cancer. I am writing today to share my concerns regarding new changes to the Patented Medicines Prices Review Board (PMPRB) regulations and the impact they may have on cancer patients.

[Identify issue] I am concerned that the rapid implementation of these regulations could result in less availability and accessibility to innovative cancer medications in Canada. There is no doubt that medications in Canada should be more affordable for patients.  [Impact of issue] However, some of the proposed changes outlined by the PMPRB could result in fewer therapy options for cancer patients. If Canada proceeds too quickly with implementing these changes, companies may decide to delay or halt drug launches in our country, leaving patients without essential and life-saving therapies available in other parts of the world.

These changes could also potentially impact the accessibility of clinical trials in Canada-which would have devastating consequences for cancer patients. For many cancer patients, clinical trials represent an opportunity to benefit from innovative therapies. This is especially true for patients who have exhausted other treatment options. If global drug manufacturers view Canada as a lower priority or a difficult market to enter, our access to clinical trials may also be compromised.

[Personal story] Now 54 years old, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer (Stage IV) in June 2010. As a mother and a new grandmother, I look forward to spending as much time with my loved ones as possible. And this summer, I’ll be traveling across the U.S. and Canada with my family, visiting iconic landmarks I’ve never seen before – like Niagara Falls. For women like me, a new year brings new hope. New treatments are available to help extend the number of sunrises, road trips, laughs and hugs with family members – an important New Year’s resolution to keep.

[Impact of issue] The proposed PMPRB changes could greatly impact my ability to access medications that prolong my survival.

[Proposed resolution and call-to-action] I urge you to consider the recommendations that were made by the patient community in Canada, including instituting a phased approach to implementation, developing a rigorous monitoring and evaluation process and engaging collaboratively to make patient voices a permanent part of the decision-making process at PMPRB.

With the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, access to new treatments and vaccines has never been more important. It is essential that our health regulatory systems are able to support access to innovative and life-saving treatments for all Canadians.  

Sincerely,

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver, BC, V5V 5V5

[Insert email at your discretion if letter is sent via postal mail] K.Slynch@kslynch.com

[Insert add least one form of contact if letter is sent via postal mail] 780-000-0000

Download as PDF | Download as Word document

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

ACTION

Advocacy

Défendre vos droits par l’entremise des relations gouvernementales : modèles de lettre

Il existe de nombreux moyens de partager votre histoire pour en faire un outil de défense des droits. Si vous choisissez de faire connaître votre message par l’entremise des relations gouvernementales, nous vous fournissons les modèles de lettre ci-dessous en guise de point de départ. Ces modèles de lettre sont écrits par « Kelly Slynch », une patiente fictive atteinte d’un cancer du sein métastatique qui désire accroître la sensibilisation aux expériences quotidiennes vécues par les patientes comme elle. N’hésitez pas à consulter et à utiliser les exemples suivants si vous faites parvenir une lettre à des représentants du gouvernement ou à des organismes gouvernementaux.

Les sections surlignées renvoient aux types d’informations (mentionnés dans notre feuille de travail « La communication narrative ») que vous devriez inclure dans vos communications, si cela s’avère pertinent. Assurez-vous de modifier la lettre pour qu’elle contienne vos informations personnelles et qu’elle décrive votre situation. Nous vous offrons ces modèles en format PDF, mais si vous choisissez d’envoyer vos messages par courriel, vous devriez écrire votre texte dans le corps du courriel et non pas l’insérer en pièce jointe.

Lettre aux députés fédéraux ou provinciaux

En-tête [si vous envoyez une lettre par la poste]
Nom du ou de la député(e) ou du chef de parti
Adresse municipale
Ville (Province) Code postal

Date

Ligne d’objet [si vous envoyez un courriel] :
Il faut en faire davantage pour les patientes atteintes d’un cancer métastatique

Madame la Députée [Monsieur le Député],

À titre d’électrice de votre circonscription, je vous écris pour vous faire part de mes préoccupations en tant que femme vivant avec un cancer du sein métastatique. [Énoncer l’enjeu/lien personnel] Depuis que je vis avec cette maladie, j’ai pu constater qu’il arrive trop souvent que des femmes comme moi se sentent isolées du reste de la population touchée par le cancer du sein. Elles ont l’impression que l’information sur le cancer du sein qui leur est actuellement offerte ne répond tout simplement pas à leurs besoins uniques. Peu importe où elles habitent, il demeure essentiel pour les femmes qui vivent avec un cancer du sein métastatique de se sentir appuyées par un réseau de personnes qui font face à des défis similaires d’une part et de tisser des liens pour mieux comprendre leur diagnostic, connaître les différentes options de traitement et savoir comment y accéder d’autre part.

[Faits et statistiques] Quelques faits importants sur le cancer du sein métastatique :

  • Le cancer du sein avancé ou métastatique survient lorsque la maladie s’est propagée à d’autres parties du corps, plus fréquemment les os, le foie, les poumons et le cerveau.
  • Le cancer du sein métastatique est aujourd’hui considéré comme incurable, mais il existe de nombreux traitements qui peuvent aider à ralentir la progression de la maladie.
  • Chaque année, environ 25 500 Canadiens reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du sein.
  • Près de 30 pour cent des personnes ayant obtenu un diagnostic de cancer du sein à un stade précoce développeront plus tard un cancer récurrent ou métastatique.
  • Chaque jour, au moins trois Canadiennes reçoivent un diagnostic initial de cancer du sein localement avancé ou métastatique.

[Témoignage] J’ai maintenant 54 ans. En juin 2010, j’ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique (stade IV). Je suis mère et, depuis peu, grand-mère. Je souhaite passer autant de temps que possible avec mes proches. Cet été, je voyagerai aux États-Unis et au Canada avec ma famille pour visiter des lieux emblématiques que je n’ai jamais vus comme les chutes Niagara. Pour les femmes comme moi, la nouvelle année est synonyme d’espoir. Des traitements novateurs deviennent disponibles pour augmenter le nombre de levers de soleil, de périples, de rires et d’étreintes avec des membres de la famille, une importante résolution du Nouvel An à respecter.

Mon histoire, mes expériences et mes difficultés en tant que personne vivant avec un cancer du sein métastatique revêtent une importance. Ils devraient être reconnus et mis en lumière au même titre que ceux des patientes à un stade précoce de la maladie. [Solution proposée] Des défenseurs des droits de tous les coins au pays ont demandé au gouvernement de faire du 13 octobre la Journée de sensibilisation au cancer du sein métastatique, une journée qui vise à appuyer et rendre hommage aux personnes de partout dans le monde qui vivent avec un cancer du sein métastatique.

[Appel à l’action] Je vous invite à vous engager à voter sur la proposition de proclamation qui sera débattue lors de la prochaine réunion du conseil et à ainsi vous montrer solidaire avec les familles canadiennes touchées par le cancer du sein métastatique.

Je vous remercie de votre engagement et j’attends impatiemment une réponse de votre part.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame la Députée [Monsieur le Député], l’assurance de ma considération distinguée.

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5V 5V5

[Inscrivez au moins une façon de vous contacter si vous envoyez votre lettre par la poste.] 

Télécharger en format PDF | Télécharger sous forme de document Word

Lettre à l’ACMTS

Coordonnées de l’ACTMS :

Présidente de l’ACMTS

Madame Suzanne McGurn
Présidente-directrice générale
Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé
865, avenue Carling, bureau 600
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1S 5S8

Ministre de la Santé

L’honorable Patty Hajdu
Ministre de la Santé
Chambre des Communes
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A6
hcminister.ministresc@canada.ca ou Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca


En-tête [si vous envoyez une lettre par la poste] :
Prénom et nom
Titre
Ministère
Adresse municipale

Date

Ligne d’objet [si vous envoyez un courriel] :
Il faut en faire davantage pour les patientes comme moi atteintes d’un cancer métastatique

Madame [Madame la Ministre],

Je m’appelle Kelly Slynch et je suis mère et nouvellement grand-mère. Je suis atteinte d’un cancer du sein métastatique. Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous faire part de mes préoccupations quant aux changements apportés au processus d’examen des médicaments de l’ACMTS et aux répercussions qu’ils pourraient avoir sur les patients cancéreux.

[Énoncer le problème] Je crains que les modifications du processus d’examen des médicaments n’entraînent une diminution de l’accessibilité aux anticancéreux et de leur disponibilité au Canada. [Conséquence(s) du problème] Ces modifications limiteraient les possibilités pour les cliniciens de donner leur avis. Leurs commentaires demeurent essentiels pour veiller à ce que les autorités prennent des décisions vraiment éclairées au sujet des traitements et de leur utilisation au Canada.

Plus important encore, une transparence accrue dans la conception et la mise en œuvre du processus d’algorithme s’avère nécessaire. Le processus d’algorithme influe sur la façon dont les anticancéreux seront remboursés et utilisés en pratique clinique dans les provinces. Il est primordial que le mécanisme d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre de l’algorithme soit divulgué en toute transparence avec les commentaires des cliniciens et des groupes de patients.

[Témoignage] J’ai maintenant 54 ans. En juin 2010, j’ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique (stade IV). En tant que grand-mère, je souhaite passer autant de temps que possible avec mes proches. Cet été, je voyagerai aux États-Unis et au Canada avec ma famille pour visiter des lieux emblématiques que je n’ai jamais vus comme les chutes Niagara. Pour les femmes comme moi, la nouvelle année est synonyme d’espoir. Des traitements novateurs deviennent disponibles pour augmenter le nombre de levers de soleil, de périples, de rires et d’étreintes avec des membres de la famille, une importante résolution du Nouvel An à respecter. Les changements proposés au processus d’examen des médicaments de l’ACMTS pourraient grandement nuire à ma capacité d’accéder à des médicaments qui prolongeraient ma vie.

[Solution proposée et appel à l’action] Je vous exhorte à considérer les recommandations formulées par les patients atteints de cancer, dont celles d’appuyer une participation continue des cliniciens qui souhaitent émettre des commentaires et de veiller à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre du processus d’algorithme des anticancéreux demeurent transparentes et permettent aux parties prenantes de donner leur avis.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame [la Ministre], l’expression de ma considération respectueuse.

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5V 5V5

[Incluez au moins une façon de vous contacter si vous envoyez votre lettre par la poste.]

Télécharger en format PDF | Télécharger sous forme de document Word

Lettre au CEPMB

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources :

Député(e)

Nom du/de la député(e)
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A6

Ministre de la Santé

L’honorable Patty Hajdu
Ministre de la Santé
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A6
hcminister.ministresc@canada.ca ou Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca


En-tête [si vous envoyez une lettre par la poste] :
Prénom et nom
Titre
Ministère
Adresse municipale

Date

Ligne d’objet [si vous envoyez un courriel] :
Il faut en faire davantage pour les patientes comme moi atteintes d’un cancer

Madame la Ministre [Monsieur le Député/ Madame la Députée],

Je m’appelle Kelly Slynch et je suis mère et nouvellement grand-mère. Je suis atteinte d’un cancer du sein métastatique. Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous faire part de mes préoccupations quant aux changements apportés aux règlements du Conseil d’examen du prix des médicaments brevetés (CEPMB) et aux répercussions qu’ils pourraient avoir sur les patients cancéreux.

[Énoncer le problème] Je crains qu’une mise en œuvre rapide de ces règlements n’entraîne une diminution de l’accessibilité aux médicaments anticancéreux innovateurs et de leur disponibilité au Canada. Il ne fait aucun doute que les médicaments devraient être plus abordables pour les patients canadiens. [Conséquence(s) du problème] Or, certaines des modifications proposées décrites par le CEPMB pourraient contribuer à réduire le nombre d’options thérapeutiques offertes aux patients atteints de cancer. Si le Canada met en œuvre ces changements trop rapidement, les compagnies pourraient décider de retarder ou d’interrompre le lancement de médicaments dans notre pays, privant ainsi les patients de traitements essentiels et vitaux offerts ailleurs dans le monde.

Ces changements pourraient également se répercuter sur l’accès aux essais cliniques au Canada, ce qui aurait des conséquences dévastatrices pour les patients atteints de cancer. Pour nombre d’entre eux, les essais cliniques constituent une occasion de bénéficier de traitements innovateurs. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les patients qui ne disposent plus d’options de traitement. Si les fabricants de médicaments mondiaux considèrent le Canada comme un marché moins prioritaire ou difficile à percer, notre accès aux essais cliniques pourrait aussi être compromis.

[Témoignage] J’ai maintenant 54 ans. En juin 2010, j’ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique (stade IV). En tant que grand-mère, je souhaite passer autant de temps que possible avec mes proches. Cet été, je voyagerai aux États-Unis et au Canada avec ma famille pour visiter des lieux emblématiques que je n’ai jamais vus comme les chutes Niagara. Pour les femmes comme moi, la nouvelle année est synonyme d’espoir. Des traitements novateurs deviennent disponibles pour augmenter le nombre de levers de soleil, de périples, de rires et d’étreintes avec des membres de la famille, une importante résolution du Nouvel An à respecter.

[Conséquence(s) du problème] Les changements proposés par le CEPMB pourraient grandement nuire à ma capacité d’accéder à des médicaments qui prolongeraient ma vie.

[Solution proposée et appel à l’action] Je vous exhorte à considérer les recommandations formulées par les patients atteints de cancer et ceux qui les appuient. Ces suggestions comprennent l’instauration d’une mise en œuvre progressive, le développement d’un processus de surveillance et d’examen rigoureux et une collaboration pour faire de la voix des patients un élément permanent du processus décisionnel du CEPMB.

La pandémie actuelle de COVID-19 a rendu encore plus important l’accès à de nouveaux traitements et vaccins. Il est essentiel que nos systèmes de règlementation de la santé puissent soutenir l’accès à des traitements innovants et qui peuvent sauver la vie.  

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame la Ministre [Madame la Députée/ Monsieur le Député], l’expression de ma considération respectueuse.

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V5V 5V5

[Si vous le désirez, joignez-y votre adresse courriel si votre lettre est envoyée par la poste.] K.Slynch@kslynch.com

[Incluez au moins une façon de vous joindre si vous envoyez votre lettre par la poste.] 780 000-0000

Télécharger en format PDF | Télécharger sous forme de document Word 

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages