The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

ACTION

Advocacy

Social Media for Advocacy

Social media is a great avenue for bringing attention to and raising awareness of the many issues that breast cancer patients face. While there is general knowledge of breast cancer, most people don't know about the everyday experience of having a breast cancer diagnosis.

You can choose to dedicate an entire social media account to advocating and sharing your experience, or you can make one-off posts when there is a specific issue you want to shine the spotlight on. Whichever option you go with, be clear about your overall message and goal by keeping the items outlined in the ‘Communicating Your Story’ guide in mind.

The following tips and guidelines provide an overview of the main social media platforms that can be used to help you connect with other social media users, extending the reach of your story, inspiring a discussion and creating needed change.

As a general rule of thumb, regardless of what platform you use, typically, the following should be avoided:

  • Posts that are commercial in nature, e.g. sell products and services, or recruit fans and followers
  • Profanity or defamatory, libellous, offensive, abusive, discriminatory or demeaning content (including images, videos and links)
  • Disparaging, threatening posts that condone violence or illegal behaviour
  • Offering unsupported health or medical advice
  • Personal information such as your home address or phone number
  • Posts that violate another’s copyright or intellectual property
  • Excessively repetitive and/or posts that are disruptive to the community or spam
  • Posts containing proprietary, confidential, sensitive, or non-public information

Facebook

Include Images

Posts accompanied by visuals get the highest amount of engagement on Facebook, so be sure to include images whenever you can. Make sure that you ask permission of individuals in the photos to share the image, or seek permission if the photo is copyrighted and provide photo credit to the photographer.

Make your Posts Mobile Friendly

Keep in mind that many people will be accessing your posts on their smartphones, so ensure that your posts are succinct and easy to read.

Engage with Others

Aim to respond to those who take time to comment on your content. If someone wants to learn more about an advocacy issue that you write about, have a link from a verified source that you can direct them to.

Consider Timing

If your goal is to attract more attention to your posts, try to publish content when most Facebook users in your time zone are online. Generally, the best day and time to post is Wednesday at 11AM and 1PM. Over time, you will learn which times work best for your followers. If you create a page dedicated to sharing your story (in other words, as a Facebook business page rather than a personal Facebook account), you can also track insights into how people interact with your page to find the time that works best for you. While the time you post is important, the quality and nature of your posts matter most.

Inspire Action

All your posts may not require a call-to-action, but if one can be applied, include it whenever possible; the more specific the request, the better.

Twitter

Think Real Estate

Given that you only have 280 characters to work with, it is important to keep your message to the point. However, if you feel restricted by the 280-character limit, don’t worry, you can link tweets to each other and create a "thread" when you have a lot to say on a certain subject. Sacrificing grammar is often acceptable in the Twitterverse due to the space limit.

Be Social

Engage with content that others tweet: comment, retweet, and like tweets from others who discuss similar topics to you. This will help extend the reach of the overall advocacy message and topic that matters most to you.

Inspire Action

Give a clear call-to-action, ask a question, provide links to websites for people to learn more or request that your followers retweet your posts. Specific requests result in action and therefore, impact.

Leverage Tags and Hashtags

Incorporate hashtags so that people interested in what you are posting about can see it. Mention organizations and influencers (popular accounts that tweet about the same or similar advocacy topics) by tagging them in your posts. This will help your content get noticed, which is important, especially if you include a call-to-action. Twitter only allows 280 characters per tweet, so use only the most relevant hashtags. If you need to, create a thread and add the hashtags and mentions in a linked tweet.

Instagram

It’s Not Just Photos

Instagram first started out with photos. Now, it also allows users to post short videos (up to 15 seconds) and longer videos (between 1 to 15 minutes long). Content posted to Instagram Stories, which are available to viewers for 24 hours, include photos, videos, ‘Reels’, boomerangs, and much more. Leverage the various Instagram content types to increase the reach and engagement on your main posts when you share your story and advocate for an issue. For example, you can use Instagram Stories to draw attention back to your main content.

Captions Are Everything

When you post photos, you will be telling your story in the captions. Even if you tell your story using longer videos, it is important to still use captions to summarize what you are speaking about in your videos. Be sure to use proper grammar, tell your story in a captivating manner, and close with a call-to-action. Instagram captions allow for 2,200 characters so take full advantage. 

Follow Back

Follow your followers back and get to know them. Also, find organizations and influencers whose content you enjoy, learn from them and share their posts in your story if it resonates with you and the advocacy message you are trying to get across.

Leverage Tags and Hashtags

As with other social media platforms, use hashtags and tag relevant accounts. Instagram allows up to 30 hashtags so take full advantage of this.

YouTube

Clean, Clear, Clutter-Free

If you choose to tell your story using YouTube, record yourself in a space that is clean and free of clutter. It’s also important to speak loudly and clearly so that you can be heard properly. You don’t have to invest in expensive equipment if you choose to advocate via YouTube; great looking and sounding videos can be achieved from most smartphones, it’s just a matter of recording yourself in a space that is well-lit, clean and quiet.

Get to the Point

While videos of up to 15 minutes can be uploaded (verified accounts can upload longer videos), it is important to be specific in your videos. Each video should cover one topic, that way you can provide enough details on the given topic. Be sure to end each video with a call-to-action whenever you can.

Be Social

As with all other social media platforms, engage with the content that others post, ask your viewers questions and respond to comments that they leave.

Podcasts

Choose the Right Host

Within the world of podcasting, there are various platforms or hosts that you can use. Conduct a Google search to find the pros and cons of the most popular podcasting hosts to ensure that you are using the one that is right for you.

Keep it Quiet

With podcasts, all your listeners get is audio. This means that it is very important to have a great sound. You don’t need to invest in expensive equipment; achieving great sound can be as easy as recording on your smartphone with headphones in a closed, quiet room to ensure that there is no background noise. 

Stay on Point

Depending on the podcast host that you decide on, the length of audio you can upload will vary. Pick a length of time that you are comfortable with and that you can consistently stick to, in order to ensure consistency. A good length for a podcast is 15-30 minutes; this allows you to discuss one topic in depth. Plan your content ahead, this will ensure that you stick to the subject at hand and stay within your time frame. Be sure to end with a call-to-action that listeners can easily follow. 

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

ACTION

Advocacy

Les médias sociaux pour défendre des droits

Les médias sociaux représentent un excellent moyen d’attirer l’attention de la population et de la conscientiser aux nombreux problèmes que rencontrent les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein. Même si le cancer du sein est connu de façon générale, la plupart des gens ne savent pas comment ce diagnostic se traduit dans la vie de tous les jours.

Vous pouvez utiliser un compte de média social exclusivement pour la défense de votre cause et le partage de votre expérience ou vous pouvez privilégier des publications ponctuelles lorsque vous souhaitez capter l’intérêt de vos lecteurs sur un enjeu précis. Peu importe ce que vous choisissez, assurez-vous que votre message général et votre objectif demeurent clairs en gardant en tête les éléments énoncés dans le guide « La communication narrative ».

Les conseils et lignes directrices suivants vous offrent un aperçu des principales plateformes de médias sociaux qui peuvent vous aider à créer un lien avec d’autres utilisateurs de médias sociaux. Cela vous permettra d’accroître la portée de votre histoire, de susciter une discussion et de provoquer un changement nécessaire.

En règle générale, les éléments ci-dessous devraient être évités, peu importe la plateforme choisie :

  • Les publications de nature commerciale : la vente de produits ou de services, le recrutement d’adeptes et d’abonnés par exemple ;
  • Les jurons, les contenus diffamatoires, offensants, discriminatoires ou dégradants (y compris des images, des vidéos et des liens) ;
  • Les publications désobligeantes ou menaçantes qui cautionnent la violence ou les comportements illégaux ;
  • L’offre de conseils médicaux ou de santé qui ne sont pas fondés ;
  • Les informations personnelles comme votre adresse de résidence ou votre numéro de téléphone ;
  • Les publications qui bafouent les droits d’auteur ou la propriété intellectuelle d’autrui ;
  • Les publications trop répétitives, qui dérangent la communauté ou qui constituent des pourriels ;
  • Les publications qui contiennent des informations exclusives, confidentielles, sensibles ou non publiques.

Facebook

Ajoutez des images

Puisque les publications accompagnées d’éléments visuels accroissent l’intérêt accordé au contenu sur Facebook, assurez-vous d’y inclure des images dans la mesure du possible. Veillez à obtenir la permission préalable des personnes apparaissant dans les photos avant de les partager ou à demander l’autorisation si la photo est protégée par le droit d’auteur et mentionnez le nom du ou de la photographe.

Pensez aux appareils mobiles

Gardez en tête que de nombreuses personnes consulteront vos publications sur leur téléphone intelligent, alors assurez-vous qu’elles demeurent concises et faciles à lire.

Interagissez avec les autres

Essayez de répondre à ceux et celles qui prennent le temps de commenter votre contenu. Si une personne désire en apprendre plus sur un enjeu sur lequel vous avez écrit, fournissez-lui un lien vers une source fiable.

Tenez compte du moment​​​​​​​

Si votre objectif consiste à accroître la visibilité de vos messages, tentez de publier du contenu lorsque la plupart des utilisateurs de Facebook dans votre fuseau horaire sont en ligne. En général, le meilleur moment pour publier est le mercredi à 11 h et à 13 h. Avec le temps, vous apprendrez quelles sont les habitudes de consultation de vos lecteurs. Créer une page consacrée uniquement au partage de votre histoire (en d’autres mots, une page Facebook pour entreprise au lieu d’un compte personnel) vous permettra de faire le suivi de renseignements touchant la façon dont les personnes interagissent sur votre page. Vous pourrez alors cerner le meilleur moment pour publier. Même si cet aspect s’avère important, n’oubliez pas que la qualité et la nature du contenu priment.

Encouragez l’action​​​​​​​

Vos publications ne doivent pas toutes contenir un appel à l’action, mais lorsqu’elles s’y prêtent, n’hésitez pas à encourager vos lecteurs à agir. Plus votre demande sera précise, mieux cela sera.

Twitter

Pensez immobilier

Compte tenu du fait que vous ne disposez que de 280 caractères, il s’avère important d’aller droit au but. Cependant, si vous vous sentez coincée par le nombre de caractères permis, sachez que vous pouvez lier vos gazouillis entre eux pour créer un fil de discussion lorsque vous en avez beaucoup à écrire sur un même sujet. Les entorses à la grammaire et à l’orthographe sont souvent tolérées sur cette plateforme en raison de ses contraintes.

Interagissez

Interagissez avec le contenu publié par d’autres : commentez, relayez et aimez les gazouillis d’autres personnes qui discutent de thèmes semblables aux vôtres. Cela contribuera à élargir la portée de votre message général de défense des intérêts et du sujet qui vous préoccupe le plus.

Encouragez l’action

Incitez clairement vos lecteurs à passer à l’action, posez une question, fournissez des liens vers des sites Web pour que les gens en apprennent davantage ou invitez vos abonnés à relayer vos publications. Les demandes précises génèrent des actions et provoquent un impact.

Tirez parti des étiquettes et des mots-clics

Intégrez des mots-clics pour permettre aux gens visés par vos publications de les voir. Mentionnez des organisations et des influenceurs (des comptes populaires qui publient sur des sujets de défense des intérêts identiques ou semblables aux vôtres) en les étiquetant dans vos publications. Cela contribuera à attirer l’attention sur votre contenu, ce qui est important, surtout si vous incluez un appel à l’action. Twitter limite les gazouillis à 280 caractères chacun, alors n’utilisez que les mots-clics les plus pertinents. Au besoin, créez un fil de discussion et ajoutez les mots-clics et les mentions dans un gazouillis lié.

Instagram

Plus que des photos

Au début, Instagram se limitait aux photos. Maintenant, il est possible d’y publier de courtes vidéos (jusqu’à 15 secondes) et de plus longues vidéos (entre une et quinze minutes). Le contenu affiché dans les Instagram Stories (qui disparaissent après 24 heures) inclut des photos, des vidéos, des reels, des boomerangs et plus encore. Profitez des différents types de contenu Instagram pour accroître la portée et la mobilisation de vos publications principales quand vous partagez votre histoire et défendez une cause. Par exemple, vous pouvez utiliser Instagram Stories pour ramener l’attention sur votre thème central.

L’importance des légendes

Quand vous publiez des photos, leur légende racontera votre histoire. Même si vous témoignez à l’aide de plus longues vidéos, il importe de recourir à des légendes pour résumer ce dont il est question dans vos vidéos. Assurez-vous de ne pas commettre de fautes, d’employer un style captivant et de terminer avec un appel à l’action. Les légendes d’Instagram peuvent contenir jusqu’à 2200 caractères, alors profitez-en pleinement.

Suivez vos abonnés​​​​​​​

Suivez vos abonnés en retour et apprenez à les connaître. Aussi, trouvez des organisations et des influenceurs dont vous aimez le contenu. Apprenez d’eux et partagez leurs publications dans votre story si elles vous interpellent et font écho au message de défense des intérêts que vous portez.

Tirez parti des étiquettes et des mots-clics

Comme avec les autres plateformes de médias sociaux, utilisez des mots-clics et mentionnez les comptes pertinents. Instagram permet jusqu’à 30 mots-clics par publication, alors profitez-en.

YouTube

Propre, dépouillé et désencombré

Si vous choisissez de raconter votre histoire à l’aide de YouTube, enregistrez-vous dans un endroit propre et dépouillé. Assurez-vous aussi de parler fort et clairement pour être bien entendue. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’investir dans un équipement coûteux si vous optez pour cette plateforme. Des vidéos avec des images et du son de qualité peuvent être obtenues avec la plupart des téléphones intelligents. Il s’agit de vous enregistrer dans une pièce bien éclairée, nette et calme.

Entrez dans le vif du sujet

Même si des vidéos allant jusqu’à quinze minutes peuvent être téléversées (les comptes vérifiés peuvent dépasser cette limite), il importe de demeurer concise. Chacune devrait aborder un seul sujet pour lequel vous pourrez alors fournir de nombreuses informations. Assurez-vous de terminer chaque vidéo par un appel à l’action si vous le pouvez.

Interagissez

Comme avec les autres plateformes de médias sociaux, interagissez avec le contenu publié par les autres utilisateurs, posez des questions aux personnes qui visionnent vos vidéos et répondez à leurs commentaires.

Les balados

Choisissez la bonne plateforme d’hébergement.

Il existe une grande variété de plateformes d’hébergement dans le monde de la baladodiffusion. Employez un moteur de recherche pour trouver les avantages et les inconvénients des plateformes d’hébergement les plus populaires pour vous assurer d’utiliser celle qui vous convient le mieux.

Préférez le calme

Dans le cas des balados, vos auditeurs ne reçoivent qu’un document audio. Cela signifie que la qualité du son devient primordiale. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’acheter un équipement coûteux. Par exemple, un son de bonne qualité peut être obtenu en vous enregistrant à l’aide de votre téléphone intelligent et d’écouteurs dans une pièce fermée où règne le silence pour éviter tout bruit de fond.

Ne digressez pas

Certaines plateformes d’hébergement limitent la durée des balados qui peut être téléversée. Optez pour une durée avec laquelle vous vous sentez à l’aise et respectez-la afin de garantir une uniformité. Une durée de 15 à 30 minutes pour chacun de vos balados semble tout indiquée : vous pourrez ainsi discuter en profondeur d’un thème. Planifiez le contenu de votre balado. De cette façon, vous vous assurerez de ne pas vous éloigner du sujet et d’observer le temps alloué. Veillez à terminer avec un appel à l’action auquel vos auditeurs pourront aisément donner suite.

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages