The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

ACTION

Advocacy

Contacting Government Relations for Advocacy

Most government officials that you speak to are genuinely interested in hearing what you have to say. People who run for elected office usually do it because they want to make a difference in their communities. They like talking to others and hearing their ideas on how to improve policies and programs. As an elected representative, speaking to constituents and members of their community is also part of their job. 

The staff that develop and run the programs within the government are also interested in hearing about how their programs are working. They are not always able to fix things quickly and easily, but they do listen and will consider the feedback they receive from individuals and organizations.

You can send a letter to your MP, MPP or to a governing body, such as CADTH (Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health) or PMPRB (Patented Medicine Prices Review Board) to voice your concerns over a specific policy or program that is impacting you and other breast cancer patients. While you need to identify the problem, solution and a call-to-action as outlined in our “Communicating Your Story” worksheet, you need to go more in-depth with this when contacting someone in government. Doing this ensures that the issue and the solutions that you propose are in fact within the scope of the government.

Below, we outline (downloadable as a Word and PDF document worksheet) how to identify and ensure that your issue is within the scope of the government. If you are unable to answer a lot of these questions, then you might need to find another strategy and avenue for your advocacy.

Problem

What is the actual need for breast cancer patients and how is it not being met by the current policy or program?

Needs Assessment
  • What is the need? 
  • What has external research identified as the need? 
  • Who is affected by the problem? 
  • What is the impact on their lives? 
  • What is the impact on the people around them? 
  • What is the impact on social and economic structures, such as the economy, use of government and non-profit services, etc. 
Environmental Scan
  • Who is the program or policy currently benefiting, and who is being excluded? 
  • What aspects of your life are remaining stable or are improving, and which are not? 
  • What other options and resources, if any, do you have to fill the gap? 

Solution

What needs to happen to reduce or eliminate the gap between what is needed by breast cancer patients, and what is available? Are there existing models, best practices or successes that can be replicated or expanded?

Policy
  • What changes need to be made to the existing policy or program to make it more equitable and responsive to actual need?
Access
  • What are the structural, economic, and social and other barriers that are preventing some people from accessing, or benefitting from a policy or program? 
  • How could changes to administration and delivery make it more responsive to actual need?
Awareness
  • How would strategies to better communicate, or raise the profile, of an existing policy or program make it more effective in reaching those that it needs to reach?

Targets

Who are the people that have the authority and/or jurisdiction that can make changes? Who are the people that can advocate for, or influence others to make changes?

Bureaucratic
  • Who is involved in program planning and administration? Who can be an ally for internal change?
MPs, MPPs and Senators
  • Who are the elected officials representing the individuals that are experiencing the need? 
  • What government committees are involved in program or policy planning and priority setting?
  • Who is already familiar with the issues? 
  • Who needs an introduction to the issues? 
  • Who are the gatekeepers that you need to engage as allies (legislative assistants and other staffers)?

Outcome

What are the tangible, measurable changes that will result from the proposed solutions?

Personal/Individual
  • How will the life of an individual and his or her family improve because of this proposed change? 
Systemic/Institutional
  • How will economic or institutional systems (governmental and non-governmental) improve because of this proposed change? 
  • What opportunities for savings are there?

Strategies

There are various strategies you can use when advocating for an issue if you choose to engage government relations. Depending on your issue, you may decide to employ a single strategy or a combination of strategies to have your issue addressed. Regardless of which strategies you decide to use, the key to successful advocacy is persistence and patience. These strategies include, but are not limited to:

  • Petitions
  • Demonstrations
  • Lobbying and letter writing
Petitions

A petition can be a helpful tool to demonstrate support for a particular issue to influence decision-makers. Petitions are a collection of signatures from people who support change for a given issue. Petitions are particularly useful for straightforward issues - for example seeking to implement a new policy or program. A typical petition includes a brief explanation of the issue, a clear statement of what you are asking for, and a list of signatures supporting the petition. 

It is important to note that provincial and federal governments often have very specific instructions for petition submission, so follow these rules to ensure that your petition will be accepted. 

If you use other strategies and avenues to advocate for your issue, you can ask others to sign your petition as a call-to-action.

Demonstrations

Demonstrations are public events that can help bring widespread exposure to an issue. There are many different types of demonstrations, including marches and rallies. A march involves the advocating group moving from one location to another. The movement of the march can often attract attention from the community, resulting in greater public awareness of the issue. A rally typically takes place in one set location, often of political or symbolic significance. Regardless of the type of demonstration, the intention is the same - to invoke public interest and media attention to your cause. 

Social media can be extremely useful in planning, promoting and documenting a demonstration, as well as for disseminating information to fellow advocates, the media and the general public. If you use other strategies and avenues to advocate for your issue, you can ask others to join your demonstration as a call-to-action.

AnchorLobbying and Letter Writing

Lobbying involves engaging key decision-makers about your concerns. It can be done through writing letters, emails and meeting with elected and appointed representatives. It can be done at the local, municipal, provincial, or federal levels and you can lobby on your own or as part of a larger group. When lobbying a decision-maker, it is critical to keep your messaging brief and concise. You should be able to summarize your issue in a few short statements, propose 1-2 potential solutions to the issue and have a specific ask for the decision-maker. Sharing a relevant personal anecdote can help convey the impact of the issue and forge a connection with the decision-maker. 

If you use other strategies and avenues to advocate for your issue, you can ask others to join a lobbying group as a call-to-action.

You can use these sample letters to government officials, CADTH and PMPRB as examples of what engaging government relations via letter writing looks like.

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

ACTION

Advocacy

Défendre vos droits par l’entremise des relations gouvernementales

La plupart des représentants du gouvernement auxquels vous parlez souhaitent vraiment écouter ce que vous avez à dire. Les gens qui briguent les suffrages prêtent l’oreille parce qu’ils veulent faire une différence dans leur collectivité. Ils aiment parler aux autres et entendre leurs idées sur des façons d’améliorer les politiques et les programmes. Discuter avec leurs électeurs et les membres de leur communauté fait également partie du travail des élus.

Les fonctionnaires qui élaborent et gèrent les programmes au sein du gouvernement souhaitent eux aussi savoir comment cela se passe sur le terrain. Ils ne peuvent pas toujours tout régler rapidement et facilement, mais ils écoutent et tiennent compte de la rétroaction obtenue auprès des individus et des organismes.

Vous pouvez envoyer une lettre à votre député fédéral ou provincial ou à un organisme gouvernemental comme l’ACMTS (Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé) ou le CEPMB (Conseil d'examen du prix des médicaments brevetés) pour faire part de vos préoccupations quant à une politique ou un programme précis qui engendrent des répercussions sur vous et d’autres patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein. En plus de cerner le problème, de proposer une solution et de faire un appel à l’action comme décrit dans notre feuille de travail « La communication narrative », vous devez approfondir chacun de ces éléments quand vous contactez une personne du gouvernement. Cela permettra de veiller à ce que l’enjeu et les solutions suggérées relèvent bel et bien des champs de compétence du gouvernement.

Ci-dessous (et dans des documents PDF et Word téléchargeables), nous détaillons la façon de signaler le problème et de vous assurer qu’il appartient au champ d’intervention du gouvernement. Si vous vous retrouvez incapable de répondre à un bon nombre de ces questions, vous devrez peut-être trouver une autre stratégie ou un autre moyen pour défendre vos droits.

Enjeu

Quel est le besoin réel éprouvé par les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein et de quelle façon n’est-il pas satisfait par la politique ou le programme actuel ?

Évaluation des besoins
  • Quel est ce besoin ? 
  • Quel est le besoin selon les recherches externes ?
  • Qui est touché par le problème ?
  • Quelles en sont les répercussions dans leurs vies ?
  • Quelles sont les conséquences pour les gens de leur entourage ?
  • Quels sont les effets sur les structures sociales et économiques comme l’économie, l’utilisation des services gouvernementaux et des services à but non lucratif, etc. ?
Analyse du contexte
  • Qui profitent du programme ou de la politique et qui en sont exclus ?
  • Quels aspects de votre vie demeurent stables ? Lesquels s’améliorent et lesquels régressent ?
  • Quelles sont les autres options et ressources à votre disposition pour combler les lacunes, si vous en avez ? 

Solution

Qu’est-ce qui doit être fait pour réduire ou éliminer l’écart entre les besoins des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein et ce qui est offert ? Y a-t-il des modèles existants, des meilleures pratiques ou des réussites qui pourraient être reproduites ou élargies ?

Politique
  • Quels changements doivent être apportés à la politique (ou programme) actuelle pour la rendre plus équitable et mieux adaptée aux besoins réels ?
Accès
  • Quels obstacles (structuraux, économiques, sociaux et autres) empêchent des personnes d’accéder à un programme ou de profiter d’une politique ?
  • En quoi des changements dans l’administration ou la prestation de services rendraient-ils les services mieux adaptés aux besoins actuels ?
Sensibilisation
  • Comment des stratégies pour améliorer la communication ou visibilité d’un programme ou d’une politique permettraient-elles de joindre plus efficacement les personnes visées ?

Cibles

Quelles personnes détiennent l’autorité et la compétence pour apporter des changements ? Quelles sont les personnes en mesure de plaider pour des modifications ou d’influencer les autres à les effectuer ?

Bureaucratiques
  • Qui participe à la planification et à l’administration du programme ? Qui peut s’avérer un allié pour un changement à l’interne ?
Députés fédéraux, provinciaux et sénateurs
  • Qui sont les représentants élus des personnes exprimant le besoin en question ?
  • Quels comités gouvernementaux participent à la planification des programmes et des politiques et à l’établissement des priorités ?
  • Qui connaît déjà les enjeux ?
  • Qui profiterait d’une présentation des enjeux ?
  • Qui devez-vous mettre de votre côté (adjoints législatifs et autres membres du personnel) ?

Résultats

Quels changements tangibles et mesurables découleront des solutions proposées ?

Niveau personnel et individuel
  • Comment la vie d’une personne et de sa famille sera-t-elle améliorée en raison de la modification proposée ?
Niveau systémique et institutionnel
  • De quelle façon les systèmes économiques et institutionnels (gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux) s’amélioreront-ils grâce au changement suggéré ?
  • Quelles économies pourraient être réalisées ?

Stratégies

Si vous optez pour la voie des relations gouvernementales, vous pouvez utiliser différentes stratégies pour défendre une cause. Selon la nature de cette dernière, vous pourriez décider de recourir à une seule stratégie ou à une combinaison de plusieurs pour régler votre problème. Peu importe la ou les stratégies choisies, la clé du succès de la défense des intérêts repose sur la persévérance et la patiente. Ces stratégies comprennent, sans s’y limiter :

  • Les pétitions
  • Les manifestations
  • Le lobbyisme et la rédaction de lettres
Les pétitions

Une pétition peut représenter un outil utile pour démontrer aux décideurs l’appui que recueille un enjeu. Elle consiste en une collection de signatures de personnes qui soutiennent un changement précis. Les pétitions s’avèrent tout spécialement utiles dans les cas de questions simples et directes, comme la mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle politique ou d’un programme. La pétition typique comprend une courte explication du problème, un énoncé clair de ce que vous réclamez et les signatures (sous forme de liste) des personnes qui appuient la pétition.

Il importe de noter que les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral ont parfois des consignes très strictes sur la présentation des pétitions, alors suivez ces règles pour vous assurer que votre pétition est acceptée.

Si vous recourez à d’autres stratégies et moyens pour plaider en faveur de votre cause, vous pouvez demander qu’on signe votre pétition en guise d’appel à l’action.

Manifestations

Les manifestations sont des événements publics qui peuvent contribuer à accroître grandement la visibilité d’un enjeu. Il existe différents types de manifestations, dont les marches et les rallyes. Lors d’une marche, un groupe de défense se déplace d’un endroit à un autre. Ce mouvement de foule peut souvent attirer l’attention de la collectivité, ce qui augmente davantage la sensibilisation à ce sujet. Le rallye se déroule habituellement en un seul lieu et ce dernier revêt souvent une signification politique ou symbolique. Quel que soit le type de manifestation, l’intention demeure la même : recourir à l’intérêt et à l’attention du public et des médias pour défendre votre cause.

Les médias sociaux peuvent s’avérer très avantageux pour planifier, promouvoir et documenter une manifestation de même que pour diffuser l’information aux autres défenseurs, aux médias et au grand public. Si vous utilisez d’autres stratégies et moyens pour défendre votre cause, vous pouvez demander à ce qu’on participe à votre manifestation en guise d’appel à l’action.

Lobbyisme et rédaction de lettres

Le lobbyisme consiste à sensibiliser les décideurs clés à vos préoccupations. Cela peut être réalisé en rédigeant des lettres, des courriels et en rencontrant des représentants élus et nommés. Cette action peut être menée au niveau municipal, provincial ou fédéral et vous pouvez faire du lobbyisme seule ou en tant que membre d’un groupe. Lorsque vous exercez des pressions auprès d’un décideur clé, il importe de veiller à ce que votre message demeure bref et concis. Vous devriez pouvoir résumer votre enjeu en quelques phrases courtes, suggérer une ou deux solutions et formuler une requête précise au décideur. Partager une anecdote personnelle pertinente peut aider à faire comprendre les répercussions de l’enjeu en plus de créer un lien avec le décideur.

Si vous recourez à d’autres stratégies et moyens pour défendre votre cause, vous pouvez demander à ce qu’on se joigne à un groupe de pression en guise d’appel à l’action.

Vous pouvez utiliser ces modèles de lettres adressées aux représentants du gouvernement, à l’ACMTS et au CEPMB pour obtenir une meilleure idée de ce à quoi la correspondance avec les instances gouvernementales ressemble.

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages