The Voice of Canadians With Breast Cancer

ACTION

Advocacy

Contacting Media Relations for Advocacy: Sample Letters

There are various avenues to share your story as a form of advocacy. Should you choose to share your message via media relations, we provide sample letters below to get you started. These sample letters are written from the perspective of “Kelly Slynch”, a metastatic breast cancer patient advocating for increased awareness of the everyday experiences of metastatic breast cancer patients. Feel free to refer to and use the following samples when sending a letter to an editor or sending a media pitch for an interview.

The highlighted sections refer to the types of information mentioned in our Communicating Your Story worksheet that you should be including in your communications, if they apply. Be sure to edit the letter to reflect your own personal information and situation. While we have made these samples available as PDFs, if you choose to send your communications via email, the text should be written within the body of the email and not sent as an attachment.

Letter to an Editor

Subject Line:
Letter to the Editor: Metastatic Breast Cancer Patients Need to be Acknowledged

Body:
Dear Editor,

[Timely angle] Over the years, Breast Cancer Awareness Month has garnered much media attention, and that is to be commended. It is important to recognize this terrible disease and bring to light new information about treatments and supports for those living with it. [Identify issue] However, too often the messaging around breast cancer is focused solely on the “survivorship” aspect of the disease, and not on women like me, living with metastatic breast cancer. [Personal story] Now 54 years old, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer (Stage IV) in June 2010. As someone living with metastatic breast cancer for a decade, it would be nice to recognize what survivorship looks like for others like me. 

[Insight/point of clarification] Advocates have been calling on the Canadian government to officially declare October 13th as Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day – an opportune time to educate people on our unique journeys with this late-stage disease. Though this is not an officially recognized day, it is noted around the world and among some breast cancer patient associations in Canada.

[Facts and statistics] Every year, approximately 25,500 Canadians are diagnosed with breast cancer. At least three Canadian women receive their first breast cancer diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic disease every day. Approximately 30 percent of those initially diagnosed with earlier stages of breast cancer later develop recurrent and/or metastatic disease. More awareness of this disease is certainly needed as survivorship for metastatic breast cancer patients is vastly different from survivorship for early-stage breast cancer patients.

[Include details to show that it is an issue that affects others breast cancer patients] The Canadian Breast Cancer Network advocates for and provides information specifically for metastatic breast cancer. Their recently published guide, ‘Metastatic Breast Cancer Handbook: A guide for individuals living with stage IV breast cancer’ provides information regarding metastatic breast cancer, existing and upcoming treatment options and their side effects, clinical trials, and complementary therapies to relieve stress and anxiety.

[Call-to-action/repeat the lesson or reason for letter] I encourage all readers to visit the Canadian Breast Cancer Network’s website (www.cbcn.ca) to educate themselves on metastatic breast cancer. [Proposed resolution] My hope is that as the public becomes more aware of metastatic breast cancer, Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day becomes officially recognized by Canada. [Impact of resolution/personal connection] Those of us living with this late-stage disease can often feel isolated from the greater breast cancer community and having this day officially recognized will help show that we are truly included in the breast cancer community.

Word Count: 345

Kelly Slynch
[insert address and phone number at your discretion]
Vancouver, BC
778-000-0000

Download as PDF | Download as Word document

Media Pitch

Subject Line:
New year, new hope for local woman living with metastatic breast cancer

Body:
Hello Jane Editor,

[Timely news hook example] Monday, February 4th, is World Cancer Day, a critically important day to focus on those living with this devastating disease and share relevant information with your [readers/viewers]. For most Canadians, New Year’s resolutions involve personal health improvement goals, such as eating better or exercising more. Now nearing the end of January, for many of those Canadians, these resolutions are already slipping or being forgotten altogether. But for women living with metastatic breast cancer, like me, eating well and exercising is not just a New Year’s resolution – it’s integral to prolonging my survival. 

[Facts and statistics] Every year, approximately 25,500 Canadians are diagnosed with breast cancer. At least three Canadian women receive their first breast cancer diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic disease every day. Approximately 30 percent of those initially diagnosed with earlier stages of breast cancer later develop recurrent and/or metastatic disease.

[Personal story] Now 54 years old, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer (Stage IV) in June 2010. As a mother and a new grandmother, I look forward to spending as much time with my loved ones as possible. And this summer, I’ll be traveling across the U.S. and Canada with my family, visiting iconic landmarks I’ve never seen before – like Niagara Falls. 

[Personal connection] For women like me, a new year brings new hope. New treatments are available to help extend the number of sunrises, road trips, laughs and hugs with family members – an important New Year’s resolution to keep. Highlighting our stories is vital for the continued education of the Canadian public, given that metastatic breast cancer is rarely discussed within the larger breast cancer awareness movement. 

[Contact for interview] I would gladly share more information about this important cause with you. [Proposed resolution and call-to-action] My goal is to bring more awareness to the challenges faced by individuals like myself who are living with metastatic breast cancer by encouraging others to share their story. Please advise if you would be interested in discussing this further and arranging an interview to share my story to support others affected by metastatic breast cancer and raise awareness of our unique needs.

Best regards, 

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver, BC
778-000-0000

Download as PDF | Download as Word document

SHARE

Financial
Navigator

Your path to accessing financial resources

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

ACTION

Advocacy

Défendre vos droits par l’entremise des relations avec les médias : modèles de lettre

Il existe différentes façons de partager votre histoire pour défendre vos droits. Si vous décidez de recourir aux médias, nous vous fournissons ci-dessous des exemples de lettres qui peuvent vous servir de point de départ. Ces modèles de lettre sont écrits par « Kelly Slynch », une patiente fictive atteinte d’un cancer du sein métastatique qui désire accroître la sensibilisation aux expériences quotidiennes vécues par les patientes comme elle. N’hésitez pas à consulter et à utiliser les modèles suivants si vous faites parvenir une lettre à la rédaction ou si vous envoyez une note de présentation aux médias pour obtenir une entrevue.

Les sections surlignées renvoient aux types d’informations mentionnés dans notre feuille de travail « La communication narrative » que vous devriez inclure dans vos communications, si cela est pertinent. Assurez-vous de modifier la lettre pour qu’elle contienne vos renseignements personnels et qu’elle décrive votre situation. Nous vous offrons ces modèles en format PDF, mais si vous choisissez de transmettre vos messages par courriel, vous devriez écrire votre texte dans le corps du courriel et non pas l’insérer en pièce jointe.

Courrier des lecteurs

Ligne objet :
Courrier des lecteurs : Les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique doivent être prises en compte

Corps :
Monsieur [ou Madame],

[Référence à l’actualité] Au fil des années, le mois de la sensibilisation au cancer du sein a beaucoup suscité l’attention des médias et il faut s’en féliciter. Il est important de reconnaître cette terrible maladie et de mettre au jour les nouvelles informations sur les traitements et le soutien offerts aux personnes qui vivent avec cette maladie. [Énoncer l’enjeu] Trop souvent cependant, les messages sur le cancer du sein se concentrent seulement sur l’aspect de la survie à la maladie et non pas sur le fait de vivre, comme moi, avec un cancer du sein métastatique. [Histoire personnelle] J’ai maintenant 54 ans. En juin 2010, j’ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique (stade IV). En tant que personne qui vit avec ce type de cancer depuis une décennie, il serait agréable que les gens sachent à quoi ressemble la survie pour les patientes comme moi.

[Renseignements/précision] Les défenseurs des droits ont demandé que le gouvernement canadien déclare officiellement le 13 octobre Journée de sensibilisation au cancer du sein métastatique. Il s’agirait d’un moment opportun pour renseigner la population sur notre expérience avec cette maladie à un stade avancé. Même si elle n’est pas reconnue officiellement, cette journée est soulignée partout dans le monde et par certaines associations de patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein au Canada.

[Faits et statistiques] Chaque année, environ 25 500 Canadiennes et Canadiens reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du sein. Chaque jour, au moins trois Canadiennes obtiennent la confirmation d’un diagnostic initial de cancer du sein localement avancé ou métastatique. Près de 30 pour cent des personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein à un stade précoce développent plus tard un cancer du sein récidivant ou métastatique. Il ne fait aucun doute qu’une plus grande sensibilisation à cette maladie s’avère nécessaire puisque la survie pour les patientes atteintes de la maladie à un stade métastatique diffère beaucoup de la survie des patientes à un stade précoce.

[Inclure des détails qui démontrent qu’il s’agit d’un enjeu pour d’autres patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein] En plus de défendre les droits des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique, le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein leur fournit de l’information axée précisément sur cette maladie. Leur brochure intitulée « Guide pour les patientes ayant reçu un diagnostic récent de cancer du sein métastatique » contient des renseignements sur le cancer du sein métastatique, les traitements existants et à venir et leurs effets secondaires, les essais cliniques et les thérapies complémentaires pour soulager le stress et l’anxiété.

[Appel à l’action/répétition de l’objectif de la lettre ou la raison pour laquelle elle a été écrite] J’encourage tous les lecteurs à visiter le site Web du Réseau canadien du cancer du sein (http://www.cbcn.ca/fr) pour s’informer sur le cancer du sein métastatique. [Solution proposée] J’espère que le public sera davantage conscientisé au cancer du sein métastatique d’une part et que la Journée de sensibilisation au cancer du sein métastatique sera officiellement reconnue par le Canada d’autre part. [Répercussion de la solution/lien personnel] Pour nous qui vivons avec cette maladie à un stade avancé et qui nous sentons souvent à l’écart de la grande communauté du cancer du sein, la reconnaissance officielle de cette journée contribuerait à démontrer que nous y appartenons vraiment.

Nombre de mots : 490

Kelly Slynch
[Insérez votre adresse et votre numéro de téléphone à votre discrétion.]
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
778 000-0000

Télécharger en format PDF | Télécharger sous forme de document Word

Présentation aux médias

Ligne objet :
Nouvelle année, nouvel espoir pour une femme de la région qui vit avec un cancer du sein métastatique

Corps :
Monsieur [ou Madame],

[Lien accrocheur avec l’actualité récente] Le lundi 4 février aura lieu la Journée mondiale du cancer, une journée tout indiquée pour penser aux personnes qui vivent avec cette terrible maladie et pour partager des informations pertinentes avec vos [lecteurs/auditeurs]. Pour la plupart des Canadiens, les résolutions du Nouvel An concernent souvent l’amélioration de la santé personnelle, comme mieux manger et faire davantage d’exercice. À l’approche de la fin janvier toutefois, la volonté de plusieurs faiblit ou les résolutions tombent dans l’oubli. Mais pour les femmes qui, comme moi, vivent avec un cancer du sein métastatique, bien manger et faire de l’exercice ne sont pas seulement des résolutions pour la nouvelle année : ils sont essentiels à la survie.

[Faits et statistiques] Chaque année, environ 25 500 Canadiennes et Canadiens reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du sein. Chaque jour, au moins trois Canadiennes obtiennent la confirmation d’un diagnostic initial de cancer du sein localement avancé ou métastatique. Près de 30 pour cent des personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein à un stade précoce développent plus tard un cancer du sein récidivant ou métastatique.

[Histoire personnelle] J’ai maintenant 54 ans. En juin 2010, j’ai reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein métastatique (stade IV). Je suis mère et, depuis peu, grand-mère. Je souhaite passer autant de temps que possible avec mes proches. Cet été, je voyagerai aux États-Unis et au Canada avec ma famille pour visiter des lieux emblématiques que je n’ai jamais vus comme les chutes Niagara.

[Lien personnel] Pour les femmes comme moi, la nouvelle année est synonyme d’espoir. Des traitements novateurs deviennent disponibles pour augmenter le nombre de levers de soleil, de périples, de rires et d’étreintes avec des membres de la famille, une importante résolution du Nouvel An à respecter. Mettre en lumière nos histoires s’avère essentiel pour continuellement informer le public canadien. En effet, le cancer du sein métastatique est rarement mentionné dans le cadre du mouvement qui s’attarde à faire connaître le cancer du sein de façon plus générale.

[Proposition d’entrevue] Je serais ravie de partager plus d’informations sur cette cause importante avec vous. [Solution proposée et appel à l’action] Mon objectif consiste à accroître la sensibilisation aux défis que doivent relever les gens comme moi qui vivent avec un cancer du sein métastatique en encourageant d’autres personnes à témoigner. N’hésitez pas à me joindre si vous souhaitez que nous en discutions plus longuement et que nous organisions une entrevue au cours de laquelle je pourrai raconter mon histoire. Je pourrai ainsi soutenir d’autres personnes touchées par le cancer du sein métastatique et conscientiser davantage les gens à nos besoins uniques.

Veuillez recevoir, Monsieur [ou Madame], mes plus cordiales salutations. 

Kelly Slynch
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
778 000-0000

Télécharger en format PDF | Télécharger sous forme de document Word

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages