Giving Voice to Canadians Concerned About Breast Cancer

helping you understand your surgical options

SurgeryGuide

Making Decisions

One thing to remember when you are navigating through this process and the decision-making regime is that each patient is different, not every diagnosis is the same; therefore, the treatment is not the same.  While you will be meeting many women who are going through their own process and whose treatment plan may vary from yours, the decision of care for each patient varies and is unique to each patient.  Your plan is unique to you.

Age as a deciding factor

Your overall health and age may be a considerable factor in making a decision around breast cancer surgery and what you choose to do after surgery. Additional surgeries for breast reconstruction may be considered higher risk depending on your age and overall health, this is an important consideration to discuss with your doctor.

Geographical considerations

Your geographical location may also be a determining factor in what you choose when it comes to breast cancer surgery. It is usually recommended that you undergo radiation if you have a lumpectomy, which requires visiting your cancer centre 5 days a week for an average of 4 – 7 weeks. If you live far away from a cancer centre and need to stay away from home for this period of time this may be a consideration when choosing between a lumpectomy and mastectomy.

If you are considering reconstruction, you will need to understand what options are available to you based on the surgeons in your area. Or, if there is a certain type of breast reconstruction that you prefer, and it isn’t available in your area, you may need to consider travelling to another centre, or province.

Lumpectomy VS Mastectomy

If you have a smaller tumour your surgeon may give you the options of having lumpectomy (breast conserving surgery) or a mastectomy. If you have a larger tumour relative to the size of your breast, or a later stage breast cancer your surgeon may indicate that mastectomy is the best option. What is the difference between a lumpectomy and mastectomy? What does the research say about long-term survival outcomes when looking at lumpectomy vs. mastectomy? The information below will help answer these questions.

Lumpectomy

Lumpectomy

Removes part of the breast tissue instead of the whole breast

  • Also referred to as a Breast Conserving Surgery or Partial Mastectomy
  • Allows you to keep most of your breast
  • Your breast may have a different, more irregular, shape depending on the size of the lumpectomy

  • Reconstruction may be done depending on the size of the tumour removed
  • Less invasive surgery, and a shorter recovery time than mastectomy
  • Usually requires radiation after surgery
  • May still end up with a mastectomy if the margins aren’t clear, meaning that cancer cells are still seen at the outer edges of the tissue that was removed

I had a lumpectomy first and when the pathologist determined that he was not happy with the margins, the surgeon had to go in and remove more breast tissue. He called it a partial mastectomy. Frankly, given that I had very small breasts to begin with, there wasn’t much left after the second surgery, although it was not a mastectomy. 
~Karen~

Mastectomy

Mastectomy

Surgical removal of the entire breast

  • Double mastectomy, or bilateral mastectomy, is the surgical removal of both breasts
  • Single mastectomy is the surgical removal of one breast
  • Surgeon may recommend this procedure for a variety of reasons such a larger tumour or later stage cancers, and more aggressive cancers or cancers that are harder to detect
  • Longer procedure than lumpectomy
  • Longer recovery time than lumpectomy

  

 

The tumour in my breast was multi focal, which means that I had more than one tumour in my breast, and the largest tumour was 3cm. Therefore, my breast surgeon highly recommended a mastectomy. I opted for a bilateral mastectomy because I was young, and symmetry on both sides was important to me.
~Trisha~

Prophylactic Mastectomy

Prophylactic Mastectomy

Surgical removal of the entire breast as a preventative measure. There is no cancer currently detected in the breast.

  • Someone with a BRCA1/2 mutation as a way to reduce risk of breast cancer developing
  • Someone deemed to be at "high risk" for breast cancer based on gene mutations other than BRCA1/2 or extensive family history
  • Someone having a single mastectomy to remove breast cancer and prefers to reduce the risk of cancer developing in the other breast (read more about the risk of cancer patients developing cancer in the opposite breast)
     

 

Research on lumpectomy vs. mastectomy

For patients with a smaller tumour, where breast conserving surgery may be an option, studies have shown that having a mastectomy instead of breast conserving surgery does not affect or improve overall long-term survival. The decision on which route to choose should be discussed in length with your surgeon.  You should feel comfortable with the decision you make.

Here’s the research published in the New England Journal of Medicine on lumpectomy vs mastectomy . 

Coverage for a prophylactic mastectomy

Prophylactic mastectomies are publicly funded for women who have a BRCA mutation or are considered high risk. The definition of high risk varies from province to province so you will need to discuss this with your health care provider to understand if you fall into this category.

Coverage for a prophylactic mastectomy for women who have cancer in one breast and would like to remove the other breast also varies from province to province. In most cases it is left to the patient and physician to decide if this is the best course of action for that person.

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Pour mieux comprendre vos options chirurgicales

Guide sur les interventions chirurgicales

Prendre des décisions

Lorsque vous vous retrouvez dans cette situation et que vous êtes tenue de prendre une décision, vous devez vous rappeler qu’aucune patiente ni aucun diagnostic n’est identique. Vous rencontrerez de nombreuses femmes qui suivront leur propre cheminement. Leur plan de traitement peut différer du vôtre. Les choix relatifs aux soins varient selon chaque patiente. Ils sont uniques et votre plan le sera également.

L’âge comme facteur déterminant

Votre état de santé global et votre âge pourraient influencer vos décisions concernant les interventions chirurgicales ainsi que les choix qui devront être effectués par la suite. Des interventions chirurgicales supplémentaires pour la reconstruction mammaire pourraient être considérées comme plus risquées selon votre âge et votre état de santé global. Il importe d’en tenir compte et d’en discuter avec votre médecin.

Le facteur géographique

L’endroit où vous habitez peut également s’avérer un facteur qui influence vos choix quant aux interventions chirurgicales liées à votre cancer du sein. Si vous subissez une tumorectomie, on vous recommandera habituellement de suivre par la suite un traitement de radiothérapie qui nécessite en moyenne 5 visites hebdomadaires au centre de cancérologie pendant 4 à 7 semaines. Si vous habitez loin du centre de cancérologie, il pourrait être impossible pour vous de retourner dormir à la maison. Il s’agit d’un élément à considérer si vous avez à choisir entre une tumorectomie et une mastectomie.

Si vous envisagez la reconstruction mammaire, les options qui vous seront offertes dépendront des chirurgiens pratiquant dans votre région. Vous devrez peut-être songer à vous rendre dans un autre centre de cancérologie, voire dans une autre province, si le type de reconstruction mammaire que vous préférez n’est pas proposé dans votre région.

La tumorectomie comparée à la mastectomie

Si votre tumeur s’avère relativement petite, votre chirurgien pourrait vous offrir la possibilité de subir une tumorectomie (une chirurgie mammaire conservatrice) ou une mastectomie. Si votre tumeur est grosse par rapport à la taille de vos seins ou si votre cancer se situe à un stade plus avancé, votre chirurgien vous dira peut-être que la mastectomie représente la meilleure option. Quelles différences existe-t-il entre ces deux interventions ? Que nous indiquent les recherches sur les taux de survie à long terme lorsqu’elles sont comparées ? Les renseignements ci-dessous vous aideront à répondre à ces questions.

Tumorectomie

tumorectomie

Ablation d’une partie du tissu mammaire au lieu de la totalité du sein

  • Aussi appelée chirurgie mammaire conservatrice, lumpectomie ou mastectomie partielle.
  • Permet de garder intacte la majeure partie de votre sein.
  • Selon la quantité de tissu mammaire retirée lors de la tumorectomie, la forme de votre sein pourrait être différente, moins régulière.

  • Une reconstruction peut être envisagée, selon de la taille de la tumeur enlevée.
  • Intervention chirurgicale moins invasive que la mastectomie.
  • Rétablissement plus rapide qu’après une mastectomie.
  • Des traitements de radiothérapie sont habituellement nécessaires après l’intervention.
  • Probabilité de devoir tout de même subir une mastectomie si les marges de tissus prélevées lors de l’opération s’avèrent positives, c’est-à-dire si des cellules cancéreuses y sont observées.

«J’ai d’abord subi une tumorectomie. Quand le pathologiste a conclu que les marges n’étaient pas à son goût, le chirurgien a dû m’opérer de nouveau pour enlever plus de tissu mammaire. Il a qualifié cela de mastectomie partielle. En toute honnêteté, j’avais déjà de très petits seins au départ. Il ne restait plus grand-chose après la deuxième intervention, même s’il ne s’agissait pas d’une mastectomie. »
~Karen~

Mastectomie

mastectomie

Ablation chirurgicale de la totalité du sein

  • Une double mastectomie (ou une mastectomie bilatérale) consiste en l’ablation des deux seins.
  • Une mastectomie simple consiste en l’ablation d’un sein.
  • Le chirurgien pourrait recommander cette intervention pour une panoplie de raisons dont la taille plus importante de la tumeur, un stade plus avancé de cancer, l’agressivité du cancer ou la difficulté à le détecter.
  • Durée de l’opération plus longue qu’une lors d’une tumorectomie.
  • Convalescence plus longue que celle postérieure à une tumorectomie.

  

 « Mon cancer du sein était multifocal, ce qui signifie que j’avais plus d’une tumeur dans mon sein. La plus grosse mesurait 3 cm. Conséquemment, mon chirurgien m’a recommandé une mastectomie. J’ai opté pour une mastectomie bilatérale parce que j’étais jeune et que la symétrie de mon corps m’importait. »
~Trisha~

Mastectomie prophylactique

mastectomie prophylactique

Il s’agit de l’ablation chirurgicale d’un sein entier de manière préventive, avant qu’un cancer n’y soit détecté.

Elle pourrait intéresser :

  • Une personne présentant une mutation des gènes BRCA 1 et 2 pour réduire son risque de développer un cancer du sein.
  • Une personne présentant un « risque élevé » de cancer du sein à cause d’une mutation de gènes autres que les BRCA 1 et 2 ou à cause de ses antécédents familiaux.
  • Une personne ayant subi une mastectomie à un seul sein pour y enlever un cancer et qui préfère réduire le risque d’en avoir un dans l’autre sein. (Consultez le site suivant pour en savoir davantage sur le risque pour les patientes de voir un cancer apparaître dans l’autre sein [en anglais seulement])
La recherche comparant la tumorectomie à la mastectomie

Pour les patientes dont la tumeur est de petite taille et pour qui une chirurgie mammaire conservatrice est envisageable, les études ont démontré qu’opter pour la mastectomie au lieu de la chirurgie mammaire conservatrice ne change en rien le taux de survie à long terme. Le choix entre les deux devrait faire l’objet d’une discussion approfondie avec votre chirurgien. Vous devriez vous sentir à l’aise avec votre décision.

Voici la recherche publiée dans le New England Journal of Medicine qui compare la tumorectomie à la mastectomie (en anglais seulement)

Le remboursement des mastectomies prophylactiques

Les mastectomies prophylactiques sont remboursées par le régime public pour les femmes porteuses d’une mutation d’un gène BRCA ou celles qui présentent un risque élevé de développer un cancer du sein. La définition de « risque élevé » varie selon les provinces. Vous devrez donc discuter avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé pour déterminer si vous appartenez à cette catégorie.

Le remboursement des mastectomies prophylactiques pour les femmes ayant déjà eu un cancer dans un sein et qui désirent se faire enlever l’autre diffère également selon les provinces. Dans la plupart des cas, ce sont les patientes et leur médecin qui décident si ce type de procédure s’avère la meilleure solution.