Information

Breast Cancer Basics

Hereditary Breast Cancer

Breast cancer associated with the passing of abnormal genetic material from a parent to a child is called hereditary breast cancer. About 5 to 10 percent of breast cancer cases are believed to be hereditary. 

Having a close blood relative (immediate family member) with breast cancer can increase your own risk of breast cancer. Inheriting certain genetic mutations can also increase your risk.  The most well-known genes linked to an increased risk of developing breast cancer are the BRCA1/BRCA2 genes. A mutation in the BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene carries a lifetime risk of breast cancer (which is the risk of developing a disease over the course of your lifetime) of 40 to 85 percent.

It is important to note that a person’s individual risk can be higher or lower than the average risk of developing breast cancer.  This is because your personal risk of developing a disease is impacted by numerous other factors, including your own medical and genetic history.

In addition to the BRCA1/BRCA2 genes, researchers have identified several other genetic mutations that are thought to be linked to the development of breast cancer. Genetic testing, a process involving the examination of saliva and blood samples to detect mutations in genes, is available as an option for those concerned about hereditary breast cancer.  Clinical factors that raise concern for hereditary breast cancer include young age, strong family history in first degree relatives, or multiple second degree, or history of multiple cancers in a single individual.  Connecting with a genetic counsellor can be helpful to guide individuals interested in genetic testing. A genetic counsellor can provide you and your family with advice on hereditary breast cancer, the probability and risk of developing or transmitting it and the options for managing the disease and its effects. Consult your physician to discuss your options for genetic testing and getting a referral for a genetic counsellor.

For more information on hereditary breast cancer, check out the following resources that were produced by the High Risk Breast Cancer Project:

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Information

Notions de base sur le cancer

Cancer du sein héréditaire

Un cancer du sein associé à une transmission de matériel génétique anormal d’un parent à un enfant est appelé cancer du sein héréditaire. Environ 5 à 10 pour cent des cas de cancer du sein appartiendraient à cette catégorie.

Avoir un proche parent par le sang (un membre de la famille immédiate) atteint d’un cancer du sein augmente votre risque d’en souffrir. Certaines mutations génétiques héréditaires peuvent également accentuer votre risque. Les gènes les plus connus liés à une probabilité accrue de cancer du sein sont le BRCA1 et le BRCA2. Une mutation dans l’un d’eux s’accompagne d’un risque à vie (c’est-à-dire le risque de développer une maladie au cours de la vie) de l’ordre de 40 à 85 pour cent.

Il est important de noter que le risque individuel peut être supérieur ou inférieur au risque moyen de développer un cancer du sein. La probabilité qu’une personne soit atteinte d’une maladie est influencée par de nombreux facteurs différents, dont les antécédents médicaux et génétiques.

En plus des gènes BRCA1 et BRCA2, les chercheurs ont identifié plusieurs autres mutations géniques qu’on croit être liées à la survenue du cancer du sein. Le dépistage génétique, qui comprend l’analyse d’échantillons de salive et de sang pour y trouver des mutations génétiques, est une option offerte aux personnes préoccupées par le cancer du sein héréditaire. Les facteurs cliniques qui peuvent faire craindre un cancer du sein héréditaire sont le jeune âge, d’importants antécédents familiaux chez les parents au premier degré, de multiples cas chez les parents au deuxième degré ou le fait qu’une personne ait été atteinte de plus d’un cancer. Communiquer avec un conseiller en génétique peut s’avérer utile pour les personnes intéressées par le dépistage génétique. Un conseiller en génétique peut vous fournir, à vous et votre famille, des conseils sur le cancer du sein héréditaire, sur les probabilités et le risque d’en souffrir ou de le transmettre et sur les options offertes pour gérer la maladie et ses effets. Consultez votre médecin pour discuter des choix possibles et pour obtenir un rendez-vous avec un conseiller.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le cancer du sein héréditaire, découvrez les ressources suivantes qui ont été conçues dans le cadre du Projet Risque élevé du cancer du sein :

PARTAGER

MÉDIREPÈRE

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages