October 1, 2014: Canadian Breast Cancer Network Launches Living Legacy Campaign to Raise Awareness of Metastatic Breast Cancer


  • More than three Canadian women receive their first breast cancer diagnosis of locally advanced or metastatic disease every day (1)
  • Approximately 30 per cent of those initially diagnosed with earlier stages of breast cancer later develop recurrent and/or metastatic disease (2)

Campaign to pave the way for National Metastatic Breast Cancer Day in Canada

Ottawa, ON ̶ October 1, 2014 – The Canadian Breast Cancer Network (CBCN) today announced the launch of the Living Legacy campaign to raise awareness of metastatic breast cancer, which occurs when the cancer has spread to other parts of the body – most commonly, the bones, liver, lungs and brain. (3) Metastatic breast cancer is currently considered an incurable disease that may be controlled through treatment, though survival rates remain low. (4)

A group of Canadian women living with metastatic breast cancer are sharing their Living Legacies and, together with CBCN, raising awareness of this most serious form of the disease. According to recent reports, individuals living with metastatic breast cancer often feel isolated from the greater breast cancer community, and often feel that the breast cancer information currently available to them does not address their unique needs. (5)

“No matter where people are located in Canada, it is important for them to feel supported and connected to a network of people who are facing similar challenges when it comes to understanding their metastatic breast cancer and accessing treatment options,” said Cathy Ammendolea, chair of CBCN. “The Living Legacy campaign recognizes that there is so much more to each and every one of these women’s legacies than the devastating reality of the disease, helping them to replace the feelings of isolation and fear with hope, connection and optimism.”

“When I was told I had metastatic breast cancer, I was terrified. What I knew of breast cancer is that either you are cured, or you die. But this is simply not the world many of us live in,” said Mei-Lin Yee, an attorney and mother who is a member of the Living Legacy Advisory Committee. “I’m determined to share my story with others – to inspire them to live each day to the fullest - so that metastatic disease can’t take away more from us than it already has. Metastatic breast cancer will not be my legacy. My living legacy is my passion for life.”

There are four main types of breast cancer: human epidermal growth factor-2-positive (HER2-positive, or HER2+); HER2-negative (or HER2-); hormone-receptor-positive (HR-positive, or HR+); and basal-like tumours that express neither HER2 nor hormone receptors (triple-negative). (6) An important first step is to determine human HER2 and HR status of the breast tumour cells, so that treatment can be optimized. (7) Advanced HR+ breast cancer is the most common form. Approximately 70 per cent of all invasive breast cancers are HR+ at the time of diagnosis. (8) Researchers are beginning to explore how genetic profiling can help to guide decision about which treatments are most appropriate. Personalized medicine, as it is referred to, works by assessing the genetic make-up of individual tumours and then tailoring the therapy to be more targeted. (9)

“It is important to recognize and emphasize the needs of metastatic breast cancer patients,” said Dr. Stephen Chia, medical oncologist and chair of the Provincial Breast Tumour Group at BC Cancer Agency. “We tend to hear a lot about ‘survivorship’ and finding ‘the cure’, but where metastatic disease is concerned, we really need to personalize treatment based on the tumour molecular characteristics with targeted research and therapies, and most importantly, the increased availability of treatment options, so that the lives of our patients can be prolonged and their quality of life improved or maintained.”

The Living Legacy Parliamentary Reception

To help launch the Living Legacy campaign, CBCN is hosting a reception on Parliament Hill, marking the beginning of Breast Cancer Awareness Month and highlighting Metastatic Breast Cancer Day, which is recognized in many countries around the world on October 13th.

When: Wednesday, October 1, 2014, 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Where: Room 238-S Centre Block, Parliament Hill, Ottawa

Who: 
Judy Foote
, Member of Parliament for Random-Burin-St. George’s
Dr. Stephen Chia, medical oncologist and chair, Provincial Breast Tumour Group, BC Cancer Agency
Cathy Ammendolea, chair of CBCN
The Living Legacy Advisory Committee, composed of women from across Canada living with metastatic breast cancer

The reception will bring more focus to metastatic breast cancer and highlight Bill C-594, or an Act Respecting a Canadian Metastatic Breast Cancer Day. The bill was introduced in April 2014 with the goal to mark October 13th of each year as National Metastatic Breast Cancer Day in Canada.

About the Canadian Breast Cancer Network
The Canadian Breast Cancer Network (CBCN) is Canada's leading survivor-directed, national network of organizations and individuals concerned about breast cancer. CBCN strives to voice the views and concerns of breast cancer survivors and patients through promotion of information sharing, education and advocacy activities. Visit www.cbcn.ca for more information and to become part of the Living Legacy.

The Living Legacy campaign is a collaboration with one of Canada’s leading research-based pharmaceutical companies.

-30-

For more information, or to arrange an interview, please contact:

Niya Chari, Government Relations Manager
Canadian Breast Cancer Network 
613-230-3044
nchari@cbcn.ca

Amanda Federchuk, Consultant
GCI Group
416-486-7231
amanda.federchuk@gcicanada.com

___________________________

  1. Canadian Breast Cancer Network. Metastatic Breast Cancer in Canada Report. Available at: /en/mbc_in_canada_2013. Accessed July 26, 2013.
  2. Canadian Breast Cancer Network. Metastatic Breast Cancer in Canada Report. Available at: /en/mbc_in_canada_2013. Accessed July 26, 2013.
  3. Canadian Cancer Society. Metastatic cancer overview. Available at: http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-type/metastatic-cancer/metastatic-cancer/?region=on#How_cancer_spreads. Accessed July 26, 2013.
  4. Canadian Breast Cancer Network. Metastatic Breast Cancer in Canada Report. Available at: /en/mbc_in_canada_2013. Accessed July 26, 2013.
  5. Count Us, Know Us, Join Us Advanced Breast Cancer Survey, Harris Interactive, sponsored by Novartis Oncology (2013). Available at: http://www.advancedbreastcancercommunity.org/countus/2013-global-survey.html?country=canada. Accessed July 26, 2013.
  6. New England Journal of Medicine, Burstein, The Distinctive nature of HER2+ Cancers,http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMp058197. Accessed August 11, 2014.
  7. Redmond, C¬_BC Hormone Therapy options, pg. 1-6, 2010
  8. Dobrescu, Andrei. Study of Estrogen Receptor and Progesterone Receptor Expression in Breast Ductal Carcinoma In Situ by Immunohistochemical Staining in ER/PgR-Negative Invasive Breast Cancer. May 9, 2011. Available at: http://www.isrn.com/journals/oncology/2011/673790/. Accessed on April 9, 2012.
  9. Canadian Cancer Society http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-101/cancer-research/research-trends/personalized-medicine/?region=on. Accessed on August 6, 2014.

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

1 octobre 2014 : Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein lance la campagne de sensibilisation au cancer du sein métastatique, Héritage vivant


  • Chaque jour au Canada, plus de trois femmes reçoivent leur premier diagnostic d’un cancer du sein localement avancé ou métastatique. (1)
  • Environ trente pour cent des personnes ayant reçu à l’origine un diagnostic de cancer du sein à un stade précoce développent par la suite un cancer du sein récidivant et/ou métastatique. (2)

Une campagne servant à préparer le terrain en vue de la Journée nationale du cancer du sein métastatique au Canada.

Ottawa, Ontario – Le 1er octobre 2014 – Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein (RCCS) annonce aujourd’hui le lancement de la campagne L’héritage vivant afin de mieux faire connaître le cancer du sein métastatique, lequel survient lorsque le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps; celles étant le plus touchées étant les os, le foie, les poumons et le cerveau. (3) À l’heure actuelle, le cancer du sein métastatique est considéré comme une maladie incurable qu’il est possible de circonscrire par voie de traitement, bien que le taux de survie demeure faible. (4)

Un rassemblement de Canadiennes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique partagent leur héritage vivantet, de concert avec le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein (RCCS), sensibilisent à la forme la plus grave de la maladie. Selon de récentes études, les personnes vivant avec le cancer du sein métastatique se sentent souvent isolées du reste de la population touchée par le cancer du sein et pensent souvent que l’information qui leur est actuellement disponible ne correspond pas à leurs besoins particuliers. (5)

« Où qu’elles soient situées au Canada, il est important que les femmes se sentent appuyées et qu’elles fassent partie d’un grand réseau de Canadiennes aux prises avec des difficultés semblables lorsqu’il s’agit de comprendre et de prendre en charge leur cancer du sein métastatique », a déclaré Cathy Ammendolea, présidente du conseil d’administration du RCCS. « La campagne L’héritage vivant vient souligner que l’héritage de chacune de ces femmes comporte bien plus que la réalité dévastatrice de la maladie. Elle les aide aussi à remplacer l’isolement et la peur par des sentiments d’espoir, d’appartenance et d’optimisme. »

« Lorsque j’ai reçu mon diagnostic d’un cancer du sein métastatique, j’étais terrifiée. Tout ce que je savais au sujet du cancer du sein, c’est qu’il était possible d’en guérir ou d’en mourir. Mais cela ne représente tout simplement pas le monde dans lequel vivent plusieurs d’entre nous », raconte Mei-Lin Yee, avocate, mère ainsi que membre du Comité consultatif de L’héritage vivant. « Je suis résolue à partager mon histoire avec d’autres et à les inspirer à vivre leur vie pleinement chaque jour. De cette façon, la maladie métastatique ne peut nous voler plus que ce qu’elle a déjà pu faire. Mon héritage ne sera pas un cancer du sein métastatique. Mon héritage vivant, c’est ma passion pour la vie. »

Il existe quatre formes principales de cancers du sein : récepteur 2 du facteur de croissance épidermique humain (HER2-positif); HER2-négatif; récepteurs hormonaux positifs (HR-positif); et des tumeurs basaloïdes qui n’expriment pas de récepteurs HER2 ni de récepteurs hormonaux (triple-négatif). (6) La première étape importante consiste à déterminer l’état de HER2 et des récepteurs hormonaux des cellules tumorales du sein de façon à ce que le traitement soit optimal. (7) Le cancer du sein avancé avec HR+ constitue la forme la plus fréquente de la maladie. Environ 70 pour cent de tous les cancers du sein invasifs sont HR+ lors du diagnostic. (8) Les chercheurs commencent à explorer comment l’analyse génétique peut orienter la prise de décisions quant aux traitements les plus appropriés. La médecine personnalisée, comme on l’appelle, vise à évaluer la constitution génétique de cellules tumorales précises pour ensuite mieux cibler le traitement. (9)

« Il est important de reconnaître et de mettre l’accent sur les besoins des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique », a déclaré le Dr Stephen Chia, oncologue médical et président du Provincial Breast Tumour Group au sein de la BC Cancer Agency. « Nous avons souvent tendance à entendre parler de “survie” et de “guérison”, mais lorsqu’il s’agit de maladie métastatique, il est essentiel de personnaliser le traitement en fonction des caractéristiques moléculaires des tumeurs à l’aide de traitements et de recherches ciblés. Plus important encore, il faut accroître le nombre d’options thérapeutiques disponibles afin que la vie des patients soit prolongée et que leur qualité de vie soit améliorée ou maintenue. »

Réception parlementaire de L’héritage vivant Afin d’aider au lancement de la campagne L’héritage vivant, le RCCS organise une réception sur la colline du Parlement. Elle marquera le début du mois de la sensibilisation au cancer du sein et soulignera la Journée nationale du cancer du sein métastatique qui est reconnue dans plusieurs paies à travers le monde le 13 octobre.

Date : Le mercredi 1er octobre 2014, de 17 à 19 h.

Lieu : Salle 238-S de l’édifice du Centre, colline du Parlement, à Ottawa

Présents : 
Judy Foote
, députée de Random-Burin-St. George’s 
le Dr Stephen Chia, oncologue médical et président du Provincial Breast Tumour Group, BC Cancer Agency 
Cathy Ammendolea, présidente du conseil d’administration du RCCS 
Le comité consultatif de L’héritage vivant, formé de femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique provenant de partout au Canada

La réception ciblera davantage le cancer du sein métastatique et soulignera aussi le projet de loi C-594, la Loi instituant la Journée nationale du cancer du sein métastatique. Ce projet de loi a été déposé en avril 2014 dans le but de désigner le 13 octobre de chaque année comme étant la Journée nationale du cancer du sein métastatique au Canada.

À propos du Réseau canadien du cancer du sein 
Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein (RCCS) est le plus important réseau national du Canada composé d’organisations et de personnes préoccupées par le cancer du sein dont le travail est guidé par des survivantes. Le RCCS s’efforce de faire valoir les perspectives et les préoccupations des survivantes du cancer du sein en faisant la promotion d’activités de partage de l’information, de sensibilisation et de défense de leurs intérêts. Rendez-vous à www.cbcn.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et pour participer àL’héritage vivant.

La campagne L’héritage vivant est menée en collaboration avec l’une des principales compagnies de recherche pharmaceutique du Canada.

- 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, ou pour une entrevue, veuillez communiquer avec :

Niya Chari, gestionnaire des relations gouvernementales
Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein 
613-230-3044
NChari@cbcn.ca

Amanda Federchuk, conseillère Groupe GCI 
416-486-7231 
amanda.federchuk@gcicanada.com

___________________________

  1. Réseau canadien du cancer du sein. Le cancer du sein métastatique au Canada. Disponible à :http://www.cbcn.ca/documents/cbcn_special_reports/MBCIC-Report-FR.pdf. Consulté le 26 juillet 2013.
  2. Réseau canadien du cancer du sein. Le cancer du sein métastatique au Canada. Disponible à :http://www.cbcn.ca/documents/cbcn_special_reports/MBCIC-Report-FR.pdf. Consulté le 26 juillet 2013.
  3. Société canadienne du cancer. Vue d’ensemble du cancer métastatique. Disponible à :http://www.cancer.ca/fr-ca/cancer-information/cancer-type/metastatic-cancer/metastatic-cancer/?region=on. Consulté le 26 juillet 2013.
  4. Réseau canadien du cancer du sein. Le cancer du sein métastatique au Canada. Disponible à :http://www.cbcn.ca/documents/cbcn_special_reports/MBCIC-Report-FR.pdf. Consulté le 26 juillet 2013.
  5. Sondage Count Us, Know Us, Join Us sur le cancer du sein avancé, Harris Interactive, commandité par Novartis Oncologie (2013). Disponible à :http://www.advancedbreastcancercommunity.org/countus/2013-global-survey.html?country=canada. Consulté le 26 juillet 2013.
  6. New England Journal of Medicine, Burstein, The Distinctive nature of HER2+ Cancers,http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMp058197. Consulté le 11 août 2014.
  7. Redmond, C_BC Hormone Therapy options, pg. 1-6, 2010
  8. Dobrescu, Andrei. Study of Estrogen Receptor and Progesterone Receptor Expression in Breast Ductal Carcinoma In Situ by Immunohistochemical Staining in ER/PgR-Negative Invasive Breast Cancer. Le 9 mai 2011. Disponible à : http://www.isrn.com/journals/oncology/2011/673790/. Consulté le 9 avril 2012.
  9. La Société canadienne du cancer http://www.cancer.ca/fr-ca/cancer-information/cancer-101/cancer-research/research-trends/personalized-medicine/?region=on. Consulté le 6 août 2014.