Information

Breast Cancer Basics

Types & Sub-Types

It’s important to know your breast cancer type and sub-type because it can make a difference in the selection of treatments that are recommended.  Your cancer can have more than one sub-type. Sub-types can also change when cancer recurs (comes back following a period where it could not be detected) or spreads. This happens in up to 20 to 30% of cases.


Types of Breast Cancer

Ductal Carcinoma in Situ (DCIS) - refers to abnormal cells found within the milk ducts that are considered non-invasive as the cells have not spread from the ducts to the surrounding breast tissue. This is an early form of cancer that in some cases could potentially become invasive and spread to other tissues.

Lobular Carcinoma in Situ (LCIS) - refers to abnormal cells found within the lobules, the milk-producing glands, of the breast.  While it is uncommon for LCIS to develop into invasive cancer, this condition is linked to an increased risk of developing invasive breast cancer later in life.

Invasive ductal carcinoma - cancer that begins in the ducts (passages that carry milk from the glands to the nipple) and has spread to the surrounding breast tissue.

Invasive lobular carcinoma - cancer that starts in the lobules (groups of glands that create milk) and has spread to breast tissue nearby.

Metaplastic breast cancer is a rare type of cancer that begins as one type of cancer cell that changes into another type of cancer cell. Less than one percent of breast cancers are metaplastic and it can be treated with surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy.

Inflammatory breast cancer - is a rare form of breast cancer that causes the breast to appear red, swollen and tender, often resembling an infection. It is an aggressive, locally advanced (breast cancer that has spread to the nearby tissues and/or lymph nodes, but not to the other organs) form of cancer that blocks the lymph vessels in the skin of the breast. Symptoms of inflammatory breast cancer can develop very quickly and are often similar to other disorders. If you notice rapid swelling, skin changes or notice unusual sensations including pain or itching speak to your physician.

Metastatic breast cancer - also known as advanced, or Stage IV breast cancer, is the spread of cancerous cell growth to areas of the body other than the breast where the cancer first formed. Close to 1,200 Canadian women will receive an initial diagnosis of metastatic breast cancer each year. Some women who had an initial diagnosis of an earlier stage of breast cancer will go on to develop metastatic breast cancer.  The risk of this is highly individual, and depends on various clinical and pathological features of the initial tumour.  Unfortunately, at this time there are no current statistics in Canada to indicate how many people progress from early stage to metastatic.

Metastasis, or the spreading of cancer to a distant location in the body, can happen before or after treatment of the cancer in the breast.  It may be the result of a recurrence of breast cancer (breast cancer that returns following a period where it could not be detected). Though breast cancer cells can spread to almost any part of the body, they most commonly spread to the bones. Other common sites include the lungs, liver, brain and skin. It is this distant site of breast cancer that is called a metastasis. Visit our Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer section to better understand your diagnosis. 

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Information

Notions de base sur le cancer

Types & sous-types

Il importe que vous connaissiez le type et le sous-type de votre cancer du sein. Ces informations détermineront quels traitements vous seront recommandés. Votre cancer peut posséder plus d’un sous-type. Les sous-types peuvent également changer lors d’une propagation ou d’une récidive (la réapparition d’un cancer indétectable pendant un certain temps). Cette situation survient dans 20 à 30 % des cas.


Types de cancer du sein

Carcinome canalaire in situ (CCIS) - renvoie aux cellules anormales repérées dans les canaux galactophores. Ces cellules sont considérées comme non envahissantes puisqu’elles ne se sont pas propagées aux tissus mammaires voisins. Il s’agit d’une forme précoce de cancer qui peut parfois devenir infiltrant et toucher d’autres tissus.

Carcinome lobulaire in situ (CLIS) - fait référence aux cellules anormales trouvées dans les lobules, les glandes qui produisent le lait dans le sein. Bien qu’il soit rare qu’un CLIS se transforme en un cancer invasif, il est toutefois lié à un risque accru de développer un cancer du sein infiltrant plus tard dans la vie.

Carcinome canalaire infiltrant – un cancer qui est apparu dans les canaux (ceux qui transportent le lait des glandes au mamelon) et qui s’est propagé aux tissus mammaires environnants.

Carcinome lobulaire infiltrant – un cancer qui a surgi dans les lobules (les groupes de glandes mammaires) et qui a envahi les tissus mammaires voisins.

Le carcinome métaplasique est un type peu commun de cancer qui se caractérise par le changement d’un type de cellule cancéreuse en un autre. Moins d’un pour cent des cancers du sein sont métaplasiques et ils peuvent être traités par la chirurgie, la radiothérapie et la chimiothérapie.

Le cancer inflammatoire du sein est une forme rare de cancer qui rend le sein rouge, enflé et sensible comme s’il était infecté. Il s’agit d’un type de cancer agressif, localement avancé (c’est-à-dire un cancer qui se propage aux tissus ou aux ganglions environnants, mais non aux autres organes) qui bloque les vaisseaux lymphatiques dans la peau du sein. Les symptômes du cancer inflammatoire du sein peuvent se développer rapidement et ressemblent souvent à d’autres problèmes de santé. Si vous détectez un gonflement ou des changements cutanés soudains ou bien des sensations inhabituelles (y compris de la douleur ou des démangeaisons), consultez votre médecin.

Le cancer du sein métastatique, aussi connu sous le nom de cancer du sein avancé ou de stade IV, consiste en la propagation des cellules cancéreuses de leur lieu d’origine vers d’autres parties du corps. Près de 1 200 Canadiennes reçoivent un diagnostic initial de cancer du sein métastatique chaque année. Certaines femmes ayant reçu un diagnostic initial de cancer du sein à un stade précoce finiront par développer un cancer du sein métastatique. Les risques que cela survienne varient. Ils dépendent de diverses propriétés cliniques et pathologiques de la tumeur initiale. Malheureusement, il n’existe pas de statistiques courantes à l’heure actuelle au Canada sur le nombre de personnes dont le cancer est passé d’un stade précoce au stade IV.

Les métastases (la propagation du cancer à d’autres parties du corps) peuvent survenir avant ou après le traitement du cancer dans le sein. Elles peuvent être le résultat d’un cancer du sein récidivant (c’est-à-dire un cancer du sein qui réapparaît après avoir été indétectable pendant un certain temps). Même si les cellules cancéreuses du sein peuvent se disséminer dans presque n’importe quelles parties du corps, elles s’établissent généralement dans les os. On les retrouve aussi souvent dans les poumons, le foie, le cerveau et la peau. Ce sont ces tumeurs éloignées du cancer du sein qui sont qualifiées de métastases. Consultez notre section Vivre avec le cancer du sein métastatique pour mieux comprendre votre diagnostic. 

PARTAGER

MÉDIREPÈRE

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages