Information

Breast Cancer Basics

Types & Sub-Types


Sub-Types of Breast Cancer

Hormone receptor-positive (HR+) breast cancer refers to cancers in which the cells have receptors (proteins located inside the cell) that can receive signals from hormones that drive cell growth. Breast cancer can be estrogen-receptor positive (ER+) if it has receptors for estrogen, or progesterone-receptor positive (PR+) if it has receptors for progesterone.  It is helpful to know your hormone status as it can help you and your health care team decide if hormonal therapies and other treatments would be of benefit to you.

HER2-positive breast cancers are known for the overexpression of the human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) protein. HER2 proteins are receptors found on the surface of breast cells that are overexpressed in some breast cancers. In healthy cells, HER2 receptors are involved in controlling normal cell growth, division and repair. In HER2-positive breast cancers, the cells overproduce the HER2 protein, which can result in the uncontrolled division and growth of cells. An estimated 20 percent of breast cancers are believed to be HER2-positive.  These cancers are often treated with treatments targeted to the HER2 receptor, which has greatly improved the prognosis of this disease.

Triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) refers to cancers whose growth is not driven by the hormones estrogen or progesterone or by the overexpression of HER2 (human epidermal growth factor receptor) proteins. Targeted therapies developed for hormone receptor-positive and HER2-positive breast cancers are often ineffective against triple-negative breast cancers. Chemotherapy, surgery and radiation are the most effective treatments currently available for TNBC.

Breast cancer has also been divided into five major molecular subtypes:  luminal A, luminal B, HER2-enriched, basal-like, and normal. While, receptor status is the most important feature used for decision-making in clinical practice, standard pathologic assessments often include characteristics that can indicate the molecular subtype as well.

Luminal A cancers typically tend to be HR+ and HER2-negative, with low nuclear grade.  Luminal B cancers are also HR+, but may be higher grade and may be HER2-positive.  HER2-positive breast cancers tend to be strongly HER2-positive, and HR-.  Basal like cancers are often triple negative, however these terms are not entirely interchangeable.  Different types of breast cancer receive different types of treatment.  Understanding your breast cancer type and sub-type can better prepare you for a discussion with your doctor.

Know Your Type

Are you metastatic? Knowing your type can help you when discussing your diagnosis with your healthcare team to better understand your disease and ways to optimize treatment. Hear from women with mBC talk about their type and living with the disease and download fact sheets to better understand yours.

Read more

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

Information

Notions de base sur le cancer

Types & sous-types


Sous-types de cancer du sein

À récepteurs hormonaux positifs (HR+) : les récepteurs cellulaires (des protéines situées dans les cellules) de ces cancers peuvent recevoir des signaux d’hormones qui favorisent la croissance cellulaire. Les cancers du sein peuvent être considérés à récepteurs d’œstrogènes positifs (ER+) s’ils détiennent des récepteurs d’œstrogènes ou être qualifiés de cancers du sein à récepteurs de progestérone positifs (PR+) s’ils possèdent des récepteurs de progestérone. Le statut de vos récepteurs hormonaux peut vous aider, vous et votre équipe de soins, à déterminer si l’hormonothérapie et d’autres traitements sont indiqués. Le connaître est donc fort utile.

Les cancers du sein HER2 positifs surexpriment la protéine HER2 (récepteur 2 du facteur de croissance épidermique humain). Les protéines HER2 sont des récepteurs situés à la surface des cellules mammaires qui sont surexprimés dans certains cancers du sein. Dans les cellules saines, les récepteurs HER2 participent à la croissance, à la division et à la réparation cellulaires. Dans les cas de cancers du sein HER2+, les cellules surproduisent la protéine HER2, ce qui peut provoquer une prolifération et une croissance cellulaires incontrôlées. Vingt pour cent des cancers du sein seraient HER2+. Les traitements de ces cancers ciblent souvent le récepteur HER2. Le pronostic en est grandement amélioré.

Le cancer du sein triple négatif (CSTN) renvoie à un cancer dont le développement n’est pas alimenté par les hormones (œstrogènes ou progestérone) ou par la surexpression de la protéine HER2 (récepteur 2 du facteur de croissance épidermique humain). Les thérapies ciblées mises au point pour lutter contre les cancers du sein HR+ et HER2+ demeurent souvent inefficaces contre le cancer du sein triple négatif. La chimiothérapie, la chirurgie et la radiothérapie restent les traitements les plus adéquats pour combattre le CSTN en ce moment.

Le cancer du sein a également été divisé en cinq grands sous-types moléculaires : luminal A, luminal B, HER2-enrichi, de type basal et normal. Bien que le statut des récepteurs hormonaux demeure l’élément le plus utilisé dans la prise de décisions en pratique clinique, les évaluations pathologiques normalisées incluent souvent des caractéristiques qui peuvent également indiquer le sous-type moléculaire.

Les cancers de type luminal A tendent typiquement à être HR+ et HER2 négatifs et de bas grade nucléaire. Ceux de type luminal B sont également HR+, mais peuvent être d’un grade plus élevé et HER2+. Les cancers du sein HER2+ tendent à surexprimer plus fortement la protéine HER2 et à être HR négatifs. Les cancers de type basal sont souvent triples négatifs, mais ces termes ne sont pas tout à fait interchangeables. Chaque type de cancer du sein nécessite certaines catégories de traitement. Bien comprendre la nature du vôtre (son type et son sous-type) vous permettra d’être mieux préparée à rencontrer votre médecin.

Connaître votre type

Il est toujours utile pour les patientes d’en savoir le plus possible sur le cancer du sein en général et sur les sous-types de cancer du sein métastatique plus particulièrement. Ainsi, lors des rencontres avec leur équipe de soins, il devient plus facile pour elles de comprendre la maladie et les façons d’optimiser le traitement.

lire la suite