October 15, 2013: Canadian Breast Cancer Network Calls for People Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer in Québec to Have Access to Life-saving Treatments


Ottawa, ON, October 15, 2013: The Canadian Breast Cancer Network (CBCN) is a national, survivour-directed organization committed to promoting the best quality of care for all Canadians affected by breast cancer. CBCN is expressing our concern that people living with metastatic breast cancer in Québec may not have access to all the available treatments they may need.

Recently we have learnt that there has been a delay in listing new oncology treatments, including those indicated for the treatment of metastatic breast cancer, to the Québec provincial drug formulary.

“For patients whose cancer has progressed, timely access to diverse treatment options is critical, “said CBCN Board Chair, Cathy Ammendolea. “As cancer spreads, treatment options for patients become extremely limited and the need for improved access to a wider variety of treatment options becomes more and more essential for a patient’s survival.”

Timely and affordable access to these treatments is paramount for effective patient care. The costs of many of these new oncology treatments are prohibitively expensive, and without adequate private insurance, many patients with metastatic breast cancer are left with little to no choice in their treatment. Patients simply cannot wait for new drugs to become affordable and many must resort to drastic measures to pay for their treatment.

We must do more to support patients with metastatic breast cancer. As more new and effective treatments for metastatic breast cancer emerge, it is imperative that they be made accessible to patients when they need them. Having access to new and more effective treatment will give patients a fighting chance to live much longer and spend precious time with loved ones.

We understand that a decision will be made on the listing status of many of these new metastatic drugs in the near future. We ask that the Québec government ensure that these drugs, that are so critical to helping people with metastatic breast cancer live longer and higher quality lives, be added to the provincial formulary in a timely fashion.

About CBCN
CBCN is the leading national, survivor-directed breast cancer organization in Canada. CBCN exists to voice the concerns of breast cancer survivors and promote the best quality of care for all Canadians affected by breast cancer. We endeavour to focus national attention on critical breast cancer issues and ensure that the concerns and needs of breast cancer survivors are addressed by decision makers in research and health care policy.

-30-

For more information, or to set up an interview, please contact: Niya Chari at 613-230-3044 x231 ornchari@cbcn.ca.

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

15 octobre, 2013 : Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein réclame pour les personnes atteintes de cancer du sein métastatique l’accès à des traitements indispensables


15 octobre 2013 (Ottawa): Le Réseau canadien des survivants du cancer (RCSS) est une organisation pancanadienne guidée par des survivantes de cette maladie et engagée à promouvoir les meilleures normes de soins pour l’ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens affectés par le cancer du sein. Le RCCS s’inquiète de ce que des personnes vivant avec le cancer du sein au Québec n’ont peut-être pas accès à l’ensemble des traitements disponibles dont elles peuvent avoir besoin.

Le RCCS a récemment appris l’existence d’un délai au Québec dans l’inscription de nouveaux traitements oncologiques au formulaire provincial des médicaments, y compris ceux indiqués pour le traitement du cancer du sein métastatique.

« Pour les patient-e-s dont le cancer s’est étendu, l’accès en bon temps à diverses options de traitement est d’importance critique, » explique Mme Cathy Ammendolea, présidente du conseil du RCCS. « Avec la progression du cancer, les choix de traitement des patient-e-s deviennent extrêmement limités, et un accès amélioré à une plus vaste gamme de choix de traitements devient de plus en plus essentiel à la survie de chaque patient-e. »

L’accès à ces traitements doit non seulement se faire en bon temps mais demeurer abordable pour garantir des soins optimaux. En effet, bon nombre de ces nouveaux traitements oncologiques sont d’un coût prohibitif et, à moins de disposer d’un régime suffisant d’assurance privée, plusieurs personnes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique se retrouvent avec peu ou pas de choix de traitement. Ces personnes ne peuvent tout simplement pas attendre que ces nouveaux médicaments atteignent un coût abordable et beaucoup doivent recourir à des mesures drastiques pour acquitter leur traitement.

Nous devons faire plus pour appuyer les patient-e-s vivant avec un cancer du sein métastatique. Avec l’émergence de traitements nouveaux et efficaces pour cette maladie, il est urgent de les rendre abordables aux patient-e-s en bon temps. L’accès à des traitements nouveaux et plus efficaces offrira aux gens de meilleures chances de vivre plus longtemps des moments précieux avec leurs proches.

Nous savons qu’une décision doit être prise sous peu quand au statut de bon nombre de ces nouveaux traitements métastatiques. Nous incitons le gouvernement québécois à s’assurer que ces médicaments, si essentiels à une vie prolongée et de meilleure qualité pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du sein métastatique, seront ajoutés sans délai au formulaire provincial des médicaments approuvés.

Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein
Le Réseau canadien du cancer du sein est le plus important réseau pancanadien d’organisations et de personnes préoccupées par le cancer du sein et dirigé par des survivantes. Le RCCS fait valoir les perspectives et les préoccupations des survivantes du cancer du sein en faisant la promotion d’activités de partage de l’information, de sensibilisation et de défense de leurs intérêts.

-30-

Contacte média : Niya Chari at 613-230-3044 x231 or nchari@cbcn.ca.