Information

Young Women

Emotional Support

When you are diagnosed with breast cancer, the immediate focus will be on treatment. It is important, however, for you not to lose sight of how your diagnosis is affecting you emotionally. In fact, these symptoms will carry through to every aspect of your life during treatment and recovery.

Emotional wellbeing is crucial to quality of life, and very important to your overall wellbeing. A breast cancer diagnosis can be emotionally draining, and can cause a huge upheaval in your life. It is important to address these issues and get any treatment you may need, because ignoring them will not make them go away. In fact, it may make the problem worse. When faced with a disease like breast cancer, it is important for you to feel mentally healthy and able to fight it.

Sadness is a normal response to upsetting events, and though the feeling can be very strong at times, it usually does not last for extended periods. Depression, however, is more severe. It can be a constant in your life, and cause you to lose interest in the people, places and things you once enjoyed.

It is important to be able to tell the difference between normal, understandable bouts of sadness and a more debilitating, overwhelming depression. If you feel that you are experiencing depression, or that your sadness is becoming a problem, seek counselling. Ask your family doctor, oncologist or nurse for a referral to a counselling service in your cancer centre or hospital.

Beyond sadness and depression, there are many other emotional issues you will likely face. A breast cancer diagnosis can turn your world upside down. You will likely experience a range of emotions, from confusion and disbelief to anxiety. You may feel fear: fear of the disease, fear of the treatment, fear of losing your breast or hair, or fear of losing or leaving your loved ones. These are normal reactions, and though they may hurt and cause disruption in your life, they are normal.

Breast cancer can leave you feeling as though you lack control over your own self. This is an emotionally difficult time, and though the feelings you experience will not always be good ones, know that they are common. It is also important to remember that there is no shame in seeking help for your sadness, depression or other mental health issues.

Breast cancer support groups offer a caring environment in which to explore your feelings toward your diagnosis and treatment. Many people take comfort in knowing that there are others with the same issues. There are also many online chat rooms and message boards where you can find supportive peers, answers to your questions, and discussions of important issues.

In addition to counselling or group therapy, there are also different coping strategies you can engage in on your own. Many women find that writing helps them keep track of treatment and focus on their emotional journey. Try to jot down each day’s events, and describe your mood or any issues that have arisen.

You can also maintain a blog or website to keep family updated on your treatment. There are even websites dedicated to offering free hosting for people dealing with critical illness, such as Caring Bridge (www.caringbridge.org). Keeping a journal can help you track your emotional highs and lows and help keep your mind clear.

Be creative with how you choose to personally cope. Maybe you find solace in painting, running, meditation, prayer or taking a long, relaxing bath. Whatever it is, it’s important for you to feel strong and prepared. Mental health is vital to your wellbeing and quality of life, and should not be ignored!
 

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

NEVER TOO YOUNG

Psychosocial information and support for young women with breast cancer

Download here

Our Stories

Giving Voice to Canadians Concerned About Breast Cancer

Information

Les jeunes femmes

Santé émotionnels

Après un diagnostic de cancer du sein, le traitement médical capte souvent toute notre attention. Mais il ne faut pas perdre de vue les effets du diagnostic sur votre bien-être émotionnel. Ces symptômes vont imprégner tous les éléments de votre vie durant le traitement et votre phase de rétablissement.

Votre bien-être émotionnel influence beaucoup votre qualité de vie et joue donc un grand rôle dans votre bien-être global. Un diagnostic de cancer du sein peut saper votre énergie affective et bouleverser votre vie de fond en comble. Il est préférable d’aborder de front ces problèmes et de faire appel à toute aide nécessaire. Des émotions refoulées peuvent empirer la situation. Pour faire face à une maladie comme le cancer du sein, mieux vaut vous sentir en bonne santé mentale et être bien outillée pour lutter.

La tristesse est une réaction normale aux événements perturbants et, même si ce sentiment peut parfois être envahissant, il ne dure habituellement pas longtemps. La dépression, par contre, est plus préoccupante. Elle peut s’incruster dans votre vie et vous enlever le goût des gens, des lieux et des choses que vous aviez l’habitude d’aimer.

Il importe de pouvoir faire la différence entre des épisodes normaux et compréhensibles de tristesse, et un état dépressif plus débilitant et envahissant. N’hésitez pas à consulter si vous croyez vivre une dépression, ou que votre tristesse en vient à sembler prendre toute la place. Demandez à votre médecin, votre oncologiste ou une infirmière de vous référer au service de counselling de votre centre oncologique ou hôpital.

La tristesse et la dépression font partie d’un éventail de sentiments que vous vivrez fort probablement. Un diagnostic de cancer du sein peut bouleverser votre vie. Vous connaîtrez sans doute une kyrielle d’émotions, allant de la confusion à l’incrédulité et à l’anxiété. Vous aurez peut-être peur de la maladie, du traitement, de perdre un sein ou vos cheveux, de voir partir ou quitter les êtres que vous aimez. Il s’agit de réactions normales : si douloureuses et perturbantes qu’elles soient, elles sont tout à fait prévisibles.

Le cancer du sein peut vous donner l’impression d’avoir perdu le contrôle sur celle que vous êtes. C’est une période éprouvante et, même si les émotions que vous allez vivre ne seront pas toujours agréables, sachez que vous n’êtes pas seule à les ressentir. Vous n’avez pas à avoir honte de demander de l’aide pour faire face à la tristesse, la dépression ou tout autre problème de santé mentale.

Les groupes de soutien du cancer du sein offrent un milieu chaleureux où explorer vos sentiments face à votre diagnostic et votre traitement. Il est souvent réconfortant de savoir que l’on n’est pas la seule à affronter les mêmes difficultés. Il existe également sur Internet beaucoup de forums d’échange où trouver de l’entraide, des réponses à vos questions et des discussions d’enjeux cruciaux.

En plus du counselling et de la thérapie de groupe, différentes stratégies personnelles peuvent vous aider à faire face. Beaucoup de femmes trouvent que l’écriture les aide à garder le cap dans leur traitement et à rester attentive à leur périple émotionnel. Essayez de prendre des notes sur les événements de chaque jour, en y décrivant votre humeur et l’évolution de votre situation.

Vous pouvez également animer un blog ou un site Web pour tenir votre famille au courant de vos progrès. Certains sites Web offrent même d’héberger gratuitement les personnes aux prises avec une maladie grave; c’est le cas de l’organisation Mon cancer du sein (www.moncancerdusein.com/fr). Un journal personnel peut également vous aider à suivre vos hauts et vos bas et à garder l’esprit clair.

Laissez-vous aller et soyez créative dans vos choix personnels de survivante. Peut-être trouverez-vous des forces dans la peinture, la course à pied, les longs bains relaxants, la méditation ou la prière. Peu importe le moyen, pourvu que vous vous sentiez plus énergique et mieux outillée. Une bonne santé mentale est essentielle à votre bien-être et votre qualité de vie: sachez la préserver!

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

ON N’EST JAMAIS TROP JEUNE

Information et soutien psychosocial pour les jeunes femmes atteintes d’un cancer du sein

Télécharger

Nos témoignages