Giving Voice to Canadians Concerned About Breast Cancer

your path to accessing financial resources

FinancialNavigator

Welcome to CBCN’s FinancialNavigator

A breast cancer diagnosis can make a significant impact on a person’s life. Not only are you faced with a life-threatening illness and the impact it has on your health and state of mind, but you can also be faced with a potentially significant impact to your finances as well. From loss of income, to travel expenses, childcare and costs of treatment to name a few, cancer can be detrimental to your financial stability. This navigation tool can help you find sources of financial assistance to offset the financial burden of a cancer diagnosis. You will find programs at the national and provincial level that either provide income support or in-kind services to help ease the impact this disease can have on your everyday life.

The FinancialNavigator also offers information on how to plan and prepare for the impacts of a cancer diagnosis. Under the Financial Support Resources section, we discuss planning tips, end-of-life care planning, Health Insurance and Medicare coverage, travel, taxes and the impact a diagnosis can have on your work or school.

This work has been supported by a UICC SPARC MBC Challenge Grant.
The addition of information for early stage breast cancer patients was supported through a grant from Teva.

CBCN gratefully acknowledges the insights and guidance provided by the patient advisory committee. Thank you Amanda Hudson Frigault, Bev Jacobs, Carmela Bocale, Cindy Blondeau, Jackie Glendenning, Mei Lin Yee, Tricia James Wong and Wendie Hayes.

FAQ's

We value your feedback
Glossary of Terms

Not sure of a term referenced in the FinancialNavigator?

Click here to find the definition.

Additional Information

I have information to help update this tool, who do I contact?

If you have additional information that would be helpful to include in this tool please email cbcn@cbcn.ca or call us at 1-800-685-8820.

Contacting CBCN

How can I connect with CBCN directly about specific questions?

Connect with us via email at cbcn@cbcn.ca or on the phone at 1-800-685-8820.

La Voix Des Canadiennes Atteintes D'un Cancer Du Sein

Votre voie d’accès à des ressources financières

Explofinances

Nous vous souhaitons la bienvenue dans l’Explofinances du RCCS

Un diagnostic de cancer du sein peut engendrer des répercussions considérables. En plus de faire face à une maladie grave qui affecte la santé et l’état d’esprit, les personnes atteintes doivent affronter les conséquences potentiellement importantes d’un tel diagnostic sur leur situation financière. La perte d’un revenu, les frais de déplacement, la garde des enfants et les coûts des traitements ne sont que quelques exemples de la façon dont le cancer peut nuire à la stabilité financière. Cet outil d’aiguillage peut vous aider à repérer des sources d’aide pécuniaire pour compenser le fardeau économique d’un diagnostic de cancer du sein. Vous y trouverez des programmes fédéraux et provinciaux qui fournissent soit un soutien au revenu ou des services en nature pour contribuer à alléger les contrecoups de cette maladie sur votre vie quotidienne.

Explofinances offre également de l’information sur la planification et sur la préparation aux répercussions d’un diagnostic de cancer. Dans la section Ressources d’aide financière, nous discutons de conseils de planification, de soins de fin de vie, des couvertures d’assurance maladie, des déplacements, des impôts et des conséquences possibles d’un cancer sur votre emploi ou vos études.

Ce travail a reçu l’appui de l’UICC par l’entremise d’une subvention du Challenge SPARC pour le cancer du sein métastatique. Une subvention de Teva Oncologie Canada a permis l’ajout de renseignements pour les patientes ayant un cancer à un stade précoce.

Le RCCS est reconnaissant envers le comité consultatif formé de patientes pour ses judicieux conseils. Un grand merci à Amanda Hudson Frigault, Bev Jacobs, Carmela Bocale, Cindy Blondeau, Jackie Glendenning, Mei Lin Yee, Tricia James Wong et Wendie Hayes.

FAQ

Vos commentaires nous importent
Glossaire

La signification d’un terme utilisé dans l’Explofinances vous est incertaine ?

Cliquez ici pour en obtenir la définition.

Informations supplémentaires

Je possède des renseignements pouvant contribuer à la mise à jour de ce guide. Qui devrais-je contacter ?

Si vous avez des renseignements supplémentaires qu’il serait utile d’ajouter à ce guide, veuillez nous écrire au cbcn@cbcn.ca ou nous appeler au 1-800-685-8820.

Nos coordonnées

Comment puis-je joindre directement le RCCS si j’ai des questions sur un sujet précis ?

Vous pouvez nous joindre par courriel au cbcn@cbcn.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-685-8820.