Information

Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer

Facing Financial Issues


Funding for Medications

In Canada, there are a variety of sources of funding for medications, including public and private insurance and drug companies’ patient assistance programs.

Provincial formularies

Each province has its own list of drugs that it funds.  This list is called a formulary. The formulary differs from one province to another, as do the criteria for the patients who may access these drugs. Some drugs are funded only for certain groups, such as seniors, recipients of social assistance, or individuals with diseases that may have expensive treatments. Not all drugs that are approved by Health Canada are covered in each province or territory.  However, all drugs given in a hospital are funded under the Canada Health Act. If you or loved one needs a drug that is not listed in the formulary, you may want to explore alternatives, such as private medical insurance, or you may need to pay for the medications out of pocket. Download contact information for the provincial formularies in Canada.

Many provinces also have income support programs to fund drugs. Contact your Ministry of Health for information on what your province offers. 

Private payer

Private insurance, provided either through your employer or bought directly from an insurance company, can often cover drugs that are not on the provincial or territorial formulary. Check with your insurance provider to see whether the drugs you need are covered. For more information on how to get funding for drugs, see our brochure Who Pays for Drugs in Canada

Special Access Programme

If you have a serious or life-threatening condition for which conventional therapies have failed, your doctor can arrange through Health Canada’s Special Access Programme for you to have access to drugs that are not licensed for sale in Canada.  

Manufacturer patient assistance programs

Some drug manufacturers offer patient assistance programs for certain drugs to help cover a portion of, or all of the costs of your treatment. Download contact information for various manufacturers’ patient assistance programs. 

If you are continuing to have difficulties accessing your necessary treatment in your province, connect with us at cbcn@cbcn.ca or 1-800-685-8820. 

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Information

Vivre avec un cancer du sein métastatique

Faire face aux problèmes financiers


Financement des médicaments

Au Canada, il existe une panoplie de sources de financement des médicaments, dont les assurances publiques et privées et les programmes d’aide aux patients offerts par les fabricants de médicaments.

Listes provinciales de médicaments remboursés

Chaque province élabore sa propre liste des médicaments qu’elle rembourse. Cette liste varie selon les provinces, tout comme les critères que doivent remplir les patients pour obtenir l’accès aux médicaments. Certains traitements sont couverts pour certaines catégories de patients seulement, comme les aînés, les personnes bénéficiant de l’aide sociale ou celles souffrant de maladies requérant des traitements coûteux. Les médicaments approuvés par Santé Canada ne sont pas tous remboursés par les provinces et les territoires. Cependant, tous les médicaments administrés dans les centres hospitaliers sont couverts en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la santé. Si vous ou l’un de vos proches avez besoin d’un médicament ne se trouvant pas sur la liste provinciale, vous explorerez peut-être des solutions de rechange comme faire appel à des assurances privées ou payer vous-même pour le traitement. Téléchargez les coordonnées des listes provinciales des médicaments assurés. 

De nombreuses provinces financent également des programmes de soutien au revenu pour faciliter l’accès aux médicaments. Contactez votre ministère de la santé pour obtenir plus d’informations sur ce qui vous est offert. (Insert PDF here)

Tiers payant privé

Les assurances privées, qu’elles soient fournies par l’intermédiaire de votre employeur ou achetées directement d’une compagnie d’assurance, peuvent offrir une couverture pour les médicaments qui ne figurent pas sur les listes provinciales ou territoriales. Vérifiez auprès de votre assureur si les médicaments dont vous avez besoin sont couverts. Pour plus de renseignements sur les façons d’obtenir un remboursement, veuillez consulter notre dépliant Qui règle le coût des médicaments au Canada ? 

Programme d’accès spécial

Si vous souffrez d’une maladie grave ou mortelle pour laquelle les traitements conventionnels se sont avérés inefficaces, votre médecin peut avoir accès à des médicaments qui n’ont pas encore été approuvés pour la vente au Canada en faisant appel au Programme d’accès spécial de Santé Canada. Pour obtenir plus d’informations et les formulaires requis, visitez le http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/acces/drugs-drogues/index-fra.php

Programmes d’aide aux patients offerts par les fabricants

Certains fabricants de médicaments proposent des programmes d’aide aux patients qui couvrent en partie ou en totalité le coût du traitement. Téléchargez la liste des coordonnées des différents programmes d’aide des fabricants. 

Si malgré tout vous continuez à avoir de la difficulté à obtenir les traitements qui vous sont nécessaires dans votre province, communiquez avec nous au cbcn@cbcn.ca ou au 1 800 685-8820. 

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages