Information

Living with Metastatic Breast Cancer

Treatment


Treatment Options

Treatments for metastatic breast cancer include chemotherapy, hormonal therapy, targeted therapies, surgery, and radiation.  See the Treatment and Side Effects section for details about these treatments.

The term “line sequencing” refers to the order in which medications are given.  If one treatment doesn’t work or stops working, then the patient moves on to the next line. Certain medications are approved only as first-line, second-line, or third-line treatments.

Some people living with metastatic breast cancer use complementary therapies.  These are the same for both metastatic and non-metastatic breast cancer, and are listed under the Treatment and Side Effects section.

The Metastatic Breast Cancer Network has compiled a series of questions to ask your doctor as well as other helpful tips that can allow you to get the most out of your appointments.

SHARE

Medsearch

Where metastatic drugs are available in Canada

Quick Find

Our Stories

Events

See our calendar

Donner la parole aux Canadiennes préoccupées par le cancer du sein

Information

Vivre avec un cancer du sein métastatique

Traitement


Traitements offerts

Les traitements contre le cancer du sein métastatique comprennent la chimiothérapie, l’hormonothérapie, les thérapies ciblées, les interventions chirurgicales et la radiothérapie. Consultez la rubrique « Traitements et effets secondaires » pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces traitements.

L’ordre des traitements fait référence à la séquence dans laquelle sont administrés les médicaments. Si un ne fonctionne pas ou cesse d’être efficace, le patient doit alors se tourner vers un autre. Certains médicaments ne sont approuvés que comme traitements de première, deuxième ou troisième intention.

Certaines femmes vivant avec un cancer du sein métastatique font appel à des thérapies complémentaires qui sont également utilisées dans les cas de cancer du sein non métastatique. Ces thérapies sont énumérées dans la section sur les traitements et les effets secondaires.

Le Metastatic Breast Cancer Network a dressé une liste de questions à poser à votre médecin et de conseils pour vous aider à tirer le maximum de vos rendez-vous. (en anglais)

PARTAGER

Médirepère

Où sont offerts les médicaments contre le cancer métastatique au Canada

Recherche rapide

Nos témoignages